Shipwrecks on the Isle of Wight. DJI drone (video)

in #travel5 years ago

On the southern coast of the UK lies the Isle of Wight. As a child, all I can remember was a huge 'giant' statue outside a local amusement park and an exciting ferry crossing- this time I left with new memories and some great drone footage of some old shipwrecks.

I had no prior knowledge of the beached ships until I flew over them. Of course I wasn't the first to discover them, but finding a shipwreck anywhere is always pretty cool- perhaps movies like the Goonies influence this!

I have no idea how the ships came to rest where they were, I assume an error in navigation or irregular tides grounded the vessels on the mudflats.

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9xAyXHHbtHcrpG2QGiETpjP9GBqAoGtnHM7A7G3vSzvUBu3h7VfTbCujkJxhDoVUdGbAtaRh95KX13VzF8PnbzENgUbwn78.jpeg

There were 2 shipwrecks that I could see. Both had metal hulls that had rusted heavily over the years but looked like they would have been great to explore inside. Anyone who has walked alongside mudflats will know you don't want to do it. You just sink! I couldn't climb aboard so I have no idea what treasures might have been abandoned below deck.


Filmed and photographed with: DJI Mavic Pro
2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9k5sj5oaghwcbk9cms7txoo4GtwnzkuUhpSMZkFowAMV744jX1uuxoo8MMgwVT58GMBadk4jbCnvoQo2GXYEHRkF3Cg4r22.jpeg

The river filmed in the video was the River Yar, that led out to Yarmouth harbour on the NW corner of the island. This harbour also offered the shortest crossing back over to the mainland to Lymington- a very pleasant day trip.

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9vzwUQDu38xChLY96KRtxqHsFG8ygH9sXQnAXTLwBoEXnd1k43ur9TWNf7yFjVfE6kwjTSjzcP1SgcsPh6xi7DCcaGUn8Rc.jpeg

If you liked my post and video, please don't forget to follow for more :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61572.53
ETH 2995.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73