Quit My Job To Travel The World (1 Second A Day) - Life Through My Lens #2

in #travel7 years ago

Each week I'll be sharing one of my favourite videos from my travels so far!

quit job to travel thelifeofjord.jpg

This was one of the first videos I made and I filmed it over 9 months. I took a few seconds of footage from each day while I was travelling and put it all together to create this video!

It started to go a bit viral and kickstarted my YouTube career, which has led me on the path I'm on now. I received a lot of questions about how I could afford all this traveling, so I made this FAQ:

How much did you save?
After selling all my stuff, and paying off my overdraft and credit cards, I had roughly £5000 ($9000US). This isn’t a massive amount of money to travel on for a year, but if you budget right then it’s still more than enough.

What was your budget?
On average I spent 20-25 USD a day. This worked out as more in certain places (e.g. Europe, Dubai) and less in others (e.g. India, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Indonesia). I stayed in hostels and dorms everywhere to keep the costs down and ate mostly local street food or cooked myself. I didn’t do any organized tours and prioritized the tourist attractions I wanted to pay for. I travelled slowly and learned to barter – everything is negotiable.

What countries did you visit?
The countries I went to in the past year, in order, are: Spain, France, Italy, Austria, Slovenia, Croatia, Slovakia, Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria, Turkey, UAE, India, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Malaysia, and Indonesia. I’ve been traveling ever since.

What did you edit with and what were the cameras?
I used Premiere Pro CC to edit the video and it was all filmed on a GoPro 3 Black and Sony Handycam.

Thanks for watching, let me know what you think below!

Popular posts:
How I Became a Full-Time Travel Vlogger in Under a Year
Hi I'm Jord and I Get Paid to Travel the World (and you can too..)

You can also find me on:
YouTube - Instagram - Twitter - Facebook

Sort:  

Hi bro,
It would be nice if you mentioned the countries you were watching on youtube videos (:
Good luck

I mentioned them all in the description in this one but for the updated version of this, i'll put them in the video :) thanks!

Great headline, great article. I understand you 100%

Good to hear! Thanks for the support

Fantastic post! Thanks for sharing :)

You're welcome thanks for watching!

no worries! Have a good day :)

brave heart. So you still travel right now?

Yep i'm still travelling and now working online:

Hey! Thanks for sharing your story !
I didn't know someone could start traveling with 5000 pounds only in it's pocket. It's impressive.
Will follow your journey !
Roxane

Yeah that was including flights and eveything! Averaged around $20 a day

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

    To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

One of my favorite videos!

Thanks for watching again again

I am so glad everytime I read a story like this. It is not easy and it is super risky but then in the end when People get to be successful as You are it is so satisfying. I am so glad it worked out for You :D

Thanks Sergio and glad I could make you glad!

Congratulations @thelifeofjord! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I've love to do something similar someday, but not quite so ambitious. I'm content with the odd trip here and there each month.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17