Zemun, an amazing district in Belgrade / Serbia!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1381.JPG


Zemun

In the third day of my staying in Belgrade, it was time to go to a famous district of Belgrade which is Zemun. Zemun is one of the seventeen districts in Belgrade. Even though it is really close to city center, it is like a holiday town where you can enjoy the Donna River and try fish in many different types of restaurants along the beach. I couldn't try one of them as I was traveling on a limited budge, but I can still say that Serbia is generally cheap country so it wouldn't be a big deal to try some traditional food by the river

It took 10 mınutes to reach the town of Zemun by bus. There are some buses which are taking you to the town from the center of Belgrade, so it was really easy to reach there. What makes this town really interesting is the peaceful atmosphere of the town even though it is just a few kilometers away from the city center. There are many nice cafes in the quiet streets of this town. Many people come to this town to see the amazing view of the Sava and Donna rivers. As I mentioned in my previous blogs, Belgrade is the only city where these rivers meet.


IMG_1386.JPG

IMG_1390.JPG


Peace

This small town doesn't offer you the best examples of architecture. However, walking through the streets and looking at traditional houses gives you the feeling of peace. There are a few churches that are decorating the town. Zemun is a kind of town that I really love visiting. I am a person who loves getting lost in the streets of a city without checking a map. If you want to get to know the feeling of a city, you should visit all part of it, not only the ones that are shown on the map.

The most important place in Zemun is Gardos, the tower of Sibinjanin Janko. It took a while to find the way to this tower, but it was really worth walking there. By the way, I noticed that I lost some weight after walking in all cities for at least 5 hours every day. In Zemun, I spent quite a lot of time trying to find the Tower. The tower was made to observe the city and warn people about the possible attacks which were aiming at the city. When I reached there, the view was amazing.


IMG_1398.JPG

IMG_1403.JPG


The view

From the tower, it is possible to see the town of Zemun. The weather was a bit foggy. If you want to get the full view of the city, you are asked to pay for 2 euros in the entrance of the tower. There is also a small restaurant-cafe where you can enjoy the view by drinking some hot coffee. If you ever go to the top of the tower, you can see the meeting point of two rivers. The meeting point of the rivers can be seen clearly from the castle in Belgrade and also from here.

While I was walking through the streets of Zemun, there were many interesting houses that got my attention. Some of them seemed like they were left from war times, but there was a magical touch on them which make them like art pieces. I tried to take as many photos as possible to keep them as memories. The best thing about the cities are the shapes of houses. Unfortunately, in my city there are many apartments which look really terrible. I would love to live in Zemun in peace.


IMG_1391.JPG

IMG_1394.JPG


Orthodox Grave

While walking to the tower, I had a chance to visit a cemetery on the way. It is always interesting for me to visit graves in a new city whose people live a different religion. To be honest, graves look more interesting even though there are some sad stories behind them. There was one sad and interesting grave that I took the photo of which you can see above. There was a grave of 3 years old baby. There were drawings of angel motive on it. I felt deeply sad as the angel was 3 years old.

By the way, there is another interesting point about Serbia. They use two alphabets which are latin and cyrillic. As some of you already know, cyrillic is the alphabet that is used by slavic nations. Serbia is also one of them. Some Serbian still use this alphabet so it is possible to see both versions of the words everywhere in Serbia. It was a bit hard for me to understand the names of them, but there was a guide on the map to help tourists.


IMG_1384.JPG


Notes

The trip to Zemun was amazing as I saw lots of interesting things that you can see in the photos I shared on this post. In the last day of my holiday in Belgrade, I paid a visit to the museum of Nikola Tesla. I am going to write about it tomorrow. You are welcome to follow me for more travel posts. Thanks for reading and steem on!

Here is the post that I shared yesterday about the city of Belgrade. You are invited to check it!

My amazing holiday funded by STEEMIT, the second day in Belgrade / Serbia!


follow_teachblogger.gif

Sort:  

Wow....Travel very nice.
I appreciate your photography ..
Thanks for sharing this post.

well written buddy enjoy your travel

awesome post !! thanks for share your experience with us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01