You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Year 1: A Glimpse at the Beginning

in #travel7 years ago

Very cool, what an interesting life. I have a couple questions for you if you don't mind! What did you do before you started this lifestyle? Did you save a lot of money before, or what do you do for work while you travel? Looks like an amazing time!!

Sort:  

Its interesting that's for sure! That's actually something that I get asked a lot! About 9 months before I left home I started saving profusely, I decided in September that I wanted to move to New Zealand for a working holiday visa and that I wanted to see SE Asia before that. So I worked full time during the day and did university courses in the evening- to say the least I was crazy busy! I was living at home before I left, I never went out or drank, and I tried to have the saving mindset of "how far could I get with this money in Asia rather then spending it here". The most expensive part of travelling is the flights, everything else is reasonable depending on where you go! During my 6 month stent in Asia I lived only in cheap hostels, and two of those months I was in Thailand working for accommodations and food! You do not need a ton of money to do it, you just need to have an open mind (let's just say you can't expect much when your paying $4 a night for a hostel!!!)

The first step is booking the flight- take a leap of faith- everything else will fall into place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65355.38
ETH 2656.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87