How to Kick Jet Lag's Ass + What I Have Learned about Flying Long Distance

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Jet lag can be a pain in the ass. The worst time was when I flied to Singapore many years ago. It was the first time I flew across many time zones and I wasn't prepared for being tired, grumpy and feeling sick for two whole weeks.

I'm a lot more prepared now and I've figured out a couple of things that works for me.

1) Adopt the local time the moment you get off the plane

Get up early. Luckily, when I got to Sydney, I lived with someone that got up at 6 AM to work. This way I woke up when they did and I was able to adapt to Australian time real quick.

2) Never check what time it is back home

This has a big effect on your mindset. I fell for the temptation several times in Jamaica, because I was curious. And when I realized that it was in the middle of the night in Norway, I got very tired all of a sudden.

3) Don't nap during the day

I know, it's very tempting. But it will reduce your chances of a good night sleep at night.

4) Move your ass

It might be the last thing you want to to when you're jet-lagged, but moving or working out is a really good idea to kick jet lag's ass.

5) Go outside

Daylight is a good idea for regulating your body clock! Explore the destination you arrived in!

Flying long distance



1) Paying for a better seat on the flight to guarantee sleep isn't always working

I paid for a better seat on my way back from Rio de Janerio. Well, let's say that the guy next to me filled out his seat, and also 20 % of my seat. There's no nice way to ask the flight attendants to get another seat because the guy next to me is too big. 

2) Move around as often as possible

If you are anything like, your ancles are turning in to cancles and you feel like a potato after some hours on the plane. Prevent this by moving around and streching.

3) Hydrate - hydrate - hydrate

Just drink the H2O already.

4) Stay far away from alcohol
Avoid drinking the day before flying and the day of flying, I've been in the air with a hangover. Let's say that I wouldn't have minded if the flight crashed in the ocean that day.

5) Dress comfortably

The days where people got dressed up for flying are gone. I'm not saying you should wear crocs and a onepiece, but avoid tight clothes and synthetic materials. (I do this all the time, not only for flying. Ha ha.)

 

Susanne

Sort:  

Your posts always make me laugh. :) Thanks for the tips! @shenanigator and I are super stoked for SteemFest, but the flight is going to be lonnnnnng from Arizona.

Ha ha! I'm glad you like it. WOW, I'm super jelous. I want to go there too! f I'd still been in Norway I would've gone! Take lots of pictures and write a post about it. Can't wait to see it. :)

Hopefully you'll be able to come next year. :) Just wrote up a post about our travels thus far. https://steemit.com/steemfest/@sharingeverybite/from-phoenix-arizona-to-amsterdam-for-steemfest-with-shenanigator

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58925.39
ETH 2498.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48