Filipino Street Food of Puerto Galera 100% Solarguy Photos - what's not in the tour guide.

in #travel6 years ago

Pork belly grilled on a busy sidewalk of the busiest town on the island.


You never know when your next favourite food will be discovered. You know I try anything served to me if you've been following me for a while. In China this seems more like a risk than it does in Philippines as the Chinese have a false reputation for eating anything. Chinese people as whole are particular people but as a culture it seems that way. In PH, the places I've been and the menus I've seen suggest it's not so here.

Puerto Galera is a crowded town with mostly bars and tourists gift shops but it is the heart of the island and has pretty much everything one would need if they lived here year round, including the hospitals, schools, motor bike repair shops and building supplies, that's for future posts. I don't want to 'TLDR" my life for you, since I'm usually such a simple guy, let's keep it so.

The pork belly was delicious and flavoured in a taste I had never tried before. It was grilled before my hungry eyes. Tender and juicy. After waiting a short time in the shade, hiding from the sun you're suppose to dip it in a shared jug of some type of citrus sauce with spices unique to the area or country, I don't know but it was F'n good.

I should have tried it sooner after arriving. I spotted the stand many times and kept saying to myself I'm going to have to try that, line ups for food are always a good sign especially if it's mostly locals. The streets were rather hektic as it was nearing the end of the work day and people were bustling about getting ready to go home; I didn't get a shot of the shop but I did get some nice captures of what I could see from the stand.

Another adventure, another thing scratched off the bucket list. Truly wish I had come here sooner, I will be back. Leave a comment and a vote and I will be sure to check out your posts and leave some good karma.

Sort:  

Hello. I am from Philippines. I love to eat a lot of street foods along the busy streets of the country. I love the pork belly too. In Cagayan de Oro City, we also have proven. It is a part of a chicken that has been deep fried and is covered in flour. Despite how unhealthy they say it is, I still eat it.

haha, true, the best foods are often not best for your health. Based on your profile photo I'd assume you're an anime character from a Japanese cartoon. ^^. Happy you stumbled upon me. Will check out your posts too. I should have tried more. Next time for sure... there will be a next time without a doubt.

Looks delicious, if the locals are queuing up it's always a good sign.

When I lived in Toronto Canada, walking through Chinatown, my friends and I would say 'the best places have the most Chinese, minimal non chinese.' Same applies to every where. Long lineups of locals is key to the best local foods if you got the guts to try.

Glad you enjoyed.

Your Filipino Street Food photography is beautiful ,,,,,,Your post is one of the best post and also food yammy and tasty I really like it. thanks for sharing us.

come and enjoy, no regrets. Try all foods offered

i think you should take care of yourself and should be cautious before having anything @solarguy

I have learnt which foods are safe from a health point of view. Meats in the sun a long time on hot day could kill someone or in the least ruin a vacation.

Wow street food is definitely more fun in the Philippines! There are so many things to try and I am honestly salivating as I scroll through this post

I'm missing it too. I can;t find in Dalian China where I live. I wanted to try the Ballute but I didn't have time to find a the good places i was recommended.

Gosh, I love those pork barbecue too! Such barbecue and street food stands are mostly everywhere in the Philippines. I just don't like those barbecue with food coloring. Speaking of street foods... I've tried qwek-qwek, fish balls and squid rolls, tempura, siomai, betamax (barbecue made of pork blood) and of course balut pinoy :-) Lol! I know what you mean about the 2nd photo. Glad you enjoyed the barbecue! Looking forward for your future post! Have fun!

There's place here in Tennessee that sells a BBQ pork belly sandwich and it is the most amazing food. I'd list it in my top 5 favorite foods ever. I'd be up for trying the dish you got. Anytime it's cooked fresh in front of you with a long line it's gotta be good.

Pork belly cooked anyway is delicious, haha. I do know the sandwiches, I used to get them in Toronto. China isn't big on sandwiches, too hard to eat with chopsticks, haha

Oh no.... I'm crying cause I'm so much hungry.
Just i need to eat Filipino Street Food . Then I'll be cool.....
U5dsy5vm8uySeLMfnj6ZMfLeQcP4WwT_1680x8400.jpg

haha, yes, all will be well then.

Yes ,,,, you are absolutely right....

Yuor posts are golden ..yeah .i thik post down might have its advantages as well as disadvantages too.when.....

I'm glad you liked my post... Not too sure all you meant by what you said but i will check out what you got going on too

your street food to see very yammy.i think that,its very favorite food of phillipines.i like street food.i love to eating street food.thank u very much for your good post. @solarguy

what's your favourite street food?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79