Meaning of Bowl and Pan Shaped Pagodas in Wun Ju Sa

in #travel6 years ago

There were bowl and pan shaped pagodas behind of Dae Wung Jeon Hall.
Those pagodas were far from other pagodas.
It seemed that there was a certain order in arranging pagodas.
It is not precise but the traditional type of quadrilateral pagodas were arranged on the fore part in the temple and those experimental style of pagodas were located at back yard of the temple.

In my guess, working experimental try in hidden place must’ve been easy and convenient for them.

In my thought, the bowl and the pan shaped pagoda were deeply related with their desire serving something for Buddha.

Small piled stones on the pan shaped pagoda reminded me of foods for Buddha

_2080160.JPG

What this bowl shape pagoda remind you of ?

_2080177.JPG

_2080179.JPG

Sort:  

@slowwalker,
It's like few pots and seriously this reminds me "Koth Karalla" in our (my country) stupa! Somehow I think this is where it's origin! So wonderful and honestly impressive, never see this type of stupa before!

Cheers~

The bowl shapped pagoda reminds me of the earthen wares of the Koreans used back in the days for storing items and material really, I don't know there was different kinds of pagoda until I definitely saw this post really, it's a beautiful capture and and definitely it seems like a different kind than the quadilateral one

great pagoda sir,really beautiful temple,i love korea sir @slowwalker

wow, such a beautiful status. Korea is so blessed with more artistic value.

Pagoda always interesting, deep mean :) thanks for sharing it sir @slowwalker. Happy trip and keep healthy. Goe bless you

It reminds me on storing goods/ food- one bowl over the other.
Resteemed :-)

Last two pagoda image remind me early life of water shortage area's women who carry many pitcher on head
Which near future also be....

the lower pagoda reminded the place where monks used to carry out pindapata ceremonies. the pindapata ceremony is carried out by monks before Vesak. They will be excited to give the opportunity to citizens to give donations. This contribution is a form of giving up worldly interests to achieve true happiness. Release samsara to reach nirvana.
Thank you @slowwalker for sharing this beautiful post, beautiful photos

The round structure looks like a tablet to store information.

Two different shapes but both pagodas have 4 levels, like the pan shaped, when I see that it seems like every second the water fountain will run down the pans. As to bowls, that reminded me a snowman's body, sorry, that was my first thought :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65754.91
ETH 2670.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88