The Great Wall Of China - The Badaling Section | Highlights Of Traveling China

in #travel6 years ago

Known as the "key to Northern China", The Badaling Great Wall exists as one of the best and most prominent parts of China's 13,000 mile Great Wall. It was truly amazing to behold!

On May 24, 2017, Michelle and I traveled with our tour group to see one of the greatest symbols of China, The Great Wall. Located in the Yanging district of Beijing, the Badaling Great Wall occupies a very strategic part of the structure, protecting the Juyongguan Pass and the city of Beijing. Badaling (八达岭) also features one of the highest towers on all of the Great Wall. Number 8 tower (Beibalou  北八樓 ) sits over 3,000 ft above sea level. 

This portion of the Great Wall was built in 1504 during the Ming Dynasty. It is sometimes called the Ming Wall. Badaling is the best known and best preserved portion of the Great Wall. The fortification was started by Emperor Qin Shi Huang in the third century B.C. to prevent attacks from the nomadic tribes of the north. The labor force responsible for building the wall comprised mostly soldiers and convicts. Sadly, over 400,000 people died during the construction. Some were even buried within the wall . The Great Wall was mainly built from rammed earth, stones, and wood. However, when the Ming Dynasty continued to build the structure they turned to bricks, tiles, lime, and stone.

Witnessing the Great Wall was truly amazing. The structure is recognized as one of the most impressive architectural feats in history and I can see why. In 1987, UNESCO designated it as a world heritage site.

We hiked a couple miles of the Great Wall. It was a steep climb, but well worth it. I wish we could have stayed longer, but our tour group was on a schedule. I did however, capture the experience on multiple cameras and we were graced with beautiful weather. The Samsung camera on my S7 did great but the GoPro really shined with the wide angle lens. You can really get a feel for how vast and wonderful the country side is in Northern China. 

Enjoy my pictures! I will also be posting a video of the Great Wall on DTube!

Panoramas of The Great Wall of China


Did you know that The Great Wall CAN NOT be seen from space with the naked eye? This is an extremely popular myth. The wall is long, just not that wide.  


Great Wall Photos Captured With My GoPro Hero 4 Black

Enjoying a quick vape at the top! 👍

Great Wall Photos Captured With My Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge 


Michelle and I took a month to travel across Japan and China last May (2017). It was epic! Follow me, @slickwilly and Michelle, @curiouser for posts about our travel adventures!

 Hi there, I’m Will. First and foremost I am an entrepreneur and voluntaryist. I aspire to help build a more free world, one that we all want to live in. Some of my biggest passions include cryptocurrencies, marketing, finance, cannabis, traveling, bodybuilding, snowboarding, motorcycles, and Subarus. All pictures are my own unless otherwise stated. I release everything under CC0.

ℹ️ My website: williamjohnsonlong.com
▶️ My DTube Channel: d.tube/#!/c/slickwilly
▶️ My YouTube Channel: bit.ly/youtube-slickwilly
📷 My Instagram: instagram.com/slick_willyy/
Affiliated STEEM Accounts: @bitcoinshirtz & @trueliberty 

My Previous Steemit Post 

An Update On My Steemit Promotion On Instagram - SteemitNow Breaks 1200 Followers

Sort:  

The GoPro gives some of your pictures awesome effects! I may or may not be a little jealous b/c I've never been to China. Either way, I look forward to seeing your Dtube video in the near future

You might have to come with me next time! and the DTube video is up:

👍

I have read a bit about the great wall and like all wonders it has so many myths related to it. Real history is one aspect and the mythical aspect is truly another dimension.

Really enjoyed all pictures! As you said S7 great but the pictures from GoPro Hero 4 Black (did a little google search on it) are truly great.

The picture I liked the best is the eighth one from the bottom in the pictures titled 'Great wall photo captured with my GoPro Hero 4 Black'.
This one to be precise:

The depth created by the downhill slope is really intriguing and puts the length/size of the wall in perspective.

Thanks for sharing all this stuff man!

I took so many, so it's hard to choose. But that one is in my top 10 for sure. 👍

Damn, you beauty, Great wall of China is stunning and it looks like you guys enjoyed very well, I'm a traveler as well and I was imagining myself on that wall while reading blog and seeing pictures, the picture you took of michelle @curiouser in which she's jumping is a perfect click on time 😍
Thanks for sharing this beautiful experience with us here on steemit.

Thanks. The trick is setting a higher frame per second (FPS) on the GoPro. You can pull a high-quality image from any point in the footage with anything over 60FPS . 👍

I have always wanted to go to The Great Wall of China. Your pictures are awesome.

Thanks man! 👍And trust me, it is worth it.

This is a super amazing place wow looks awesome from the top there wonderful clicks :D

Wow you had a lot of fun over there! I really wish to visit this awesome place one day! I read somewhere that China wall too Over 2000 years to complete. Actually it was done in different ages of emperors!

You are correct sir! The wall was actually many different walls before the Ming Dynasty connected them and continued building the structure. 👍

Enjoyed walking with you on the Great Wall of China. Looks like it was a lot of fun. Lots of exercise too. Thanks and resteeming.

Thank you! 😀

One of my targeted place to go, if I got the chance. 😍😍😍
Switzerland, India, Thailand and Chaina these are my first targets to visit
Hope I will.

Thanks, i will try my best to do it.

amazing place...You both looking gorgeous....nice selfi..Though its gloomy but looking very beautiful.
You are a great nature lover as your mind is so pure. I also love to travel.Thanks for sahring your moments with us.

When I started to see the first lines of your publication, I asked instantly, what would be the camera you would use to portray, I continued to see and what a surprise at the end you mentioned that it is with a cell phone, it is an incredible quality of photos, and without mentioning the wonderful journey that you have made, each data of each paragraph, you have done an excellent job, with great quality, greetings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17