Sjennon sees the World #6 - Sleeping in a Karen Village in Thailand

in #travel6 years ago

After getting tossed and thrown through the truck because of the unstable road, we reached the Karen village 30 minutes from departure.

Boy, we really are somewhere remote.

Yes, we were. Because my thai AIS simcard didn't get any signal either.

According to the tour, this was a Karen village. As excited as I was to see women with a billion rings around their necks, I found none. However, that didn't take away the fact this is as basic as I've ever lived in my life.

Or as I call them, twig houses. The first time I saw similar houses, they were build on way less thick wood (these are actual stumps), but more on thin trees or maybe even their branches. Hence, the twigs. However, in Dutch is sounds more fun, takkehuis, in which takke refers more to something more similar to fucking.


Entrance of our sleeping hut

These things were beyond basic. The floors were just bamboo laid across a funding of branches and you had to watch where you were walking unless you wanted to lose your balance and trip.


Where we slept that night


Entry to the toilet


This is, I think, one of the worst places to get diarrhea and high ass fever. And guess what? No, I kid you not.

What surprised me about this place is that it looked quite compact, but it was pretty big. They even had a school at the border of their village!

As I was the first one to arrive because I had me a fancy truck, I was invited to help preparing dinner. I was brought to the kitchen where tables are non existent and cuttingboards are, once again, stumps.

It was fun to help out, however they barely spoke English if anything at all and the odor of sweat and cow dung wasn't quite appealing in a kitchen.

Cow dung, you say? Yes, my dear. Because this village was crowded the cows, chickens, pigs, dogs and cats.

I swear to God, I hope they eat the roosters first. They start blaring at 5 AM in the morning and do not stop until they sleep. There are many in this villages, which gets you a kuckoo about every ten seconds. Sleep is for the weak.

We slept here for one night, however slept is a big word as I had high fever and as hot and uncomfortable as I could be. Then, once I fell asleep, I had the worst dream about being teased with hellish kuckoo'ing which turned out to be the sounds from my actual surroundings. Yes, it was wonderful.

I was happy the next day, the truck left at 8 AM to take us back to Umphang and later on, back to Mae Sot where we were immediately dumped on a bus to Bangkok.

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

My name is Shannon, I am a digital designer and I am currently on my world trip which I am exclusively blogging about on Steemit! :D There is not a specific goal to my trip other than to have fun, discover places and unravel the secrets of Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, New Zealand and Australia (for now). Follow me on my adventures!

Sort:  

Onwijs gaaf! Hoop dat je je inmiddels weer stukken beter voelt 😊

Inmiddels gelukkig weer wel! Bangkok heeft me eventjes opgelapt, haha.

Well it certainly was one hell of a vacation. Cow dung, fever and the rest, I'll certainly pass
But I'm glad you're fine

It's a lot better when you don't have those things and you are probably able to enjoy it a bit better :P

Thanks!

and people still complain about their comforts

Depends on what you're used to.

that's right, do not miss what you do not know ..

Oh gosh, why does one never get sick when it's clean four star hotel bathroom :-/ Nevertheless it looks like a authentic local experience which could have been a great one! Hope you're feeling better :)

I DONT KNOW. Probably because there won't be a reason to get sick, as the food and everything is simply amazing.

It was a very quircky experience and I learned from it that I probably won't do it again - but something to remember for sure.

In the meantime, I actually am feeling a lot better, thank you!

Hello, you received a boost courtesy of @steemdunk! Steem Dunk is an automated curation platform that is easy and free for use by everyone. Need an instant boost? Send 0.200 SBD with your full post url as the memo to @steemdunk for an upvote. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Very interesting :), l liked this episode so far.. going to next one .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97