Sjennon sees the World #33 - Hiking through the Sacred Forest in Meghalaya, India

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

What happens in the Sacred Forest stays in the Sacred Forest

Am I quoting Las Vegas? Maybe. But that doesn't make it less true.

Rumor has it that you are not allowed to take anything out of the forest - even if it is a small berry or a curse shall be set upon you. Though, it is allowed to consume anything inside of it, it is not permitted to take anything out.

header.png

The forest is still maintained by the family who performed pooja here in the early days. Want to go in by yourself? Nope. You have to go in with a guide. And it is definitely recommended because the guy was amazing.

He lead us through the forest, told us historical and spiritual stories about it and showed us the beauty and creativity of nature.

Covering some 192 acres, the Mawphlang Sacred Forest, nestled in the East Khasi Hills near Mawphlang village, has its roots steeped deep in the age-old religious beliefs, in which forests are regarded as a sacred entity. The local Khasi tribes have been preserving this forest for thousands of years, and believe it to be the abode of the local deity, called Labasa. - The Culture Trip

It was really interesting to listen to his stories, as well as to find the smaller details within the forest.

From leaves to their own skeleton down to spiraling feathery leaves

And many other things..

Pooja Place - They used to sacrifice animals here

Did you know you can just eat this crazy colored flower by the way?

Or that you can make a crown out of a plant WHAT

After an hour-ish hike, it came to an end. I must say that I am not a fan of hiking, but there was no steapness as such and I did love the interactive guide as well as his stories. Kudos!

divider-long

!steemitworldmap 25.4459219 lat 91.7496613 long Don't take anything from the forest! D3SCR

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

My name is Shannon, I am a digital designer and I am currently on my world trip which I am exclusively blogging about on Steemit! :D There is not a specific goal to my trip other than to have fun, discover places and unravel the secrets of Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia and the USA (for now). Follow me on my adventures!

Sort:  

Hey I know this guy! :) So great you got to hang out! :)

Haha, yes you do! Hopefully we get to meet soon :)

Whoaaaa that GIF at the end! Really cool.

This looks like a gorgeous forest where you would be able to really feel the spiritual connection - and a lot of natural treasures <3

Hahaha, yes I am quite happy how it turned out!

I am not the most spiritual person, but it was really interesting to hear about the stories though.

Just make sure you don't take anything from the forest ;)

It always really interesting to visit such places with a local (guide). They see/hear and recognize everything and know so much about the flora and fauna.

Yes for sure! I really recommend it :)

Wow, great adventure in India by you. my dear. Thanks for sharing, have an wonderful time ahead.

It for sure was! Thank you so much.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=sjennon
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=sjennon-sees-the-world-33-hiking-in-the-sacred-forest-in-meghalaya-india


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I am Pricasso most wonderful artist and you are too pretty I want to marry you ;)

I may have to do another most wonderful masterpiece in your honour...

Yours always
Pricasso

Interesting mam, good job

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59005.68
ETH 2516.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48