Pesuta Shipwreck- Day trip to Tlell, Queen Charlotte Islands,BC Canada

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

100_4446bw copy.jpg

When I was on holiday in BC, Canada 11 years ago, my hosts and I made a trip out to the Queen Charlotte Islands for a week. One day while there we packed the 4 wheelers and a picnic and hit the beach trail at Tlell.

We explored the wreck, took some photos and then headed up the coast in reach of agates.
It was a bit of a family tradition to see who could find the biggest stone. Now I can tell you rock hunting on a pebble beach can be addictive and you're so busy looking down that you forget to look at the scenery. Lets just say I walked into the water a couple of times :) I did however find the biggest stone; roughly the size of my fist.

100_4442.JPG

"The Pesuta was a 264 foot log barge, shipwrecked in a winter storm in the Hecate Strait in 1928."
The Outbound Collective

Pseuda crossbar.JPG

The colors in the wood are just amazing to see.
100_4443.JPG

100_4426.JPG

We rode north quite a ways and stopped for lunch- Our picnic consisted of, among other things, Home made Black Bear salami, Home Smoked fish, crackers and cream cheese.

It is beautiful country and I highly recommend going if you ever can.
I've entered 2 of my black and white photos into the BWphotocontest

Check them out here
https://steemit.com/bphotocontest/@simplylizelle/entry-to-b-and-w-photo-contest-broken-and-worn-pesuta-shipwreck

https://steemit.com/bwphotocontest/@simplylizelle/entry-to-b-and-w-photo-contest-broken-and-worn-shipwreck

All photos my own, taken with a KODAK DX4330 DIGITAL CAMERA

Lizelle

Sort:  

Very Good Photo. Thanks For Share~

Your pictures are always top-notch.

Thanks Mike. :) I was still learning then and all my horizons are super skew lol. Keeps it authentic ;-)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=simplylizelle
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=pesuta-shipwreck-day-trip-to-tlell-queen-charlotte-islands-bc-canada


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Did you ever hear anything else from @chelsea88 ? I tried sending her a message to her Google account she was contacting me with through YouTube but didn't hear back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03