You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Make the world a better place – Part 4 – Thailand’s dirty shrimp industry and its vicious cycle

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

You mention prawn only, does the information pertain to shrimp too?
I use to love shrimp but after not having them for some time I decided to purchase some from my local grocery store and they were suspect.

I know I probably should have went to the farmers market but hey I was already there. However, I did purchase them from the seafood counter and got a chance to ask the monger some questions about the shrimp. He told me they were wild caught in the gulf. I was informed that the shrimp from Thailand were farm raised. So, I got the wild caught.

They had a taste not like I remember them ever having. They tasted tainted. As if they were treated with some kind of solution mixture. Yuck! Is to say the least. I figured of course there was no way they were going to be able to clean up a huge oil spill like BP had. What happened in the gulf has ruined their seafood and most likely the entire industry in that area for good. And now they are just trying to pass off these chemical filled crustaceans. Needless to say, I haven't had any shrimp since.

Sort:  

Hi silverton,

I can imagine your appetite was hit by this experience. Thanks for sharing it. Yes, it pertains for prawns and shrimps. The shrimp farms in Thailand actually focussed on the black tiger prawns but then they went over to the white Pacific shrimp (Giant Tiger Prawn) due to higher yields, disease-resistancy and a faster growth. You can calculate 120 day until they can be sold - allowing up to three cycles each year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58951.49
ETH 2505.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48