Knysna, South-Africa Holiday

in #travel8 years ago

Knysna, South-Africa Holiday

enter image description here

I was going through my photos, going down memory lane, when I came across some of my vacation photos.

As a bit of background, I want to mention that I was divorced when my kids were still very small (2 and 4 years receptively) (I am since happily married again). I made it my duty to take them on holiday once a year. We usually went camping at Brenton, which is on the East coast of South Africa. (My kids are now all grown up, my daughter is currently second year at university, and my son just finished school)

One of the things we did this particular year was to go on a steam train journey, from Knysna to George, which is a distance of about 50km and runs mostly along the coast. The train was not only for tourists, it also served as a passenger service between the 2 towns with one stop in between. The photo at the top was taken at the intermediate stop.

My son in front of one of the coaches.
enter image description here

The 3 of us ready for the trip.
enter image description here

The 2 kids inside the train.
enter image description here

Steeming along, is that spelled wrong?
enter image description here

Some more steeming
enter image description here

At the end there was a transport museum, where the kids could climb onto some old locomotives.
enter image description here

Waiting for the return trip
enter image description here

My daughter and I, no shaving on vacation!!
enter image description here

A day at the beach, of which we had many. I always had to dig a big hole in the sand for them to play in, until the waves destroyed it.
enter image description here

Kids making breakfast, I just love bacon and eggs!!
enter image description here

We always had lots of fun on our holidays, where we spent a lot of quality time together.

These photos were taken with a Canon PowerShot A450, which had 5 Mega Pixels and could zoom 3.2x, how technology changed. (I still have that old camera, but my cellphone now takes better pictures)

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it.

Sort:  

Going there next Easter!

Hi @awgbibb
Easter is a good time for Knysna, the weather is very good and it is not so busy, as this time of the year.

I love Knysna and steam trains. Lovely Photos.

Yes it is a good combination

I love steam trains 🚂, that bridge crossing looks amazing. Great memories thanks for sharing.

Hi @stephen-somers
Yes that bridge crossing is really amazing, and the view is also very beautiful.

Thanks for reading and commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65650.34
ETH 2646.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87