A step back in time - A visit to the rock and gem shop in Nederland, CO

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

_MWB4810.JPG

Visiting a rock and gem shop is a lot of fun and compares to visiting a museum when it comes to seeing fossils and ancient life.

Camera: Nikon D300S with various lenses.

I took these photos at Nature's Own rock and gem shop in Nederland, CO. Address: 5 E. First St., Nederland, Colorado.

Nederland is located 17 miles west of Boulder up Colo. 119. A visit here almost always coincides with a visit to the Carousel of Happiness, as well as to The Train Cars Coffee and Yogurt Company.

Please see my post about the Carousel of Happiness to see a video of it in all it's splendor!


_MWB4806.JPG
Fishy, fishy, fishy, fish! (Quick...name that movie.)

_MWB4801.JPG
2-3" long shark teeth. It's horrifying to think what kind of early shark these came from.

_MWB4813.JPG
Rose Quartz

_MWB4817.JPG
They gave this fossil to my grandson. They said it was from a squid I believe?

_MWB4798.JPG
This was a massive piece of... quartz I think?

_MWB4796.JPG
The lighting on this meteorite was difficult to catch just right. From some angles, the colors disappeared, and from other angles, whole sections of the stone appeared to me mirror like fading into solid black.

_MWB4792.JPG
Agate coasters. These always attract my eye. I'm not sure why I didn't buy one. I think they were only 6 or 10 dollars.

_MWB4788.JPG

_MWB4785.JPG
These images were from one of many absolutely massive geodes in the store. Pictures do these beautiful rocks no justice and you must see these in person.

_MWB4782.JPG

_MWB4780.JPG
Utah Dendrites. This was from a piece of rock about one foot square. According to the plaque, "Dendrites are psudeo-fossils that look like but are not, ferns. The (branch-like)pattern found on this layered sandstone is Manganese Oxide (MnO) pressed between the layers like frost on a window pane. The patterns are stains that form on the surface of the rock and are revealed when the rock is split."

_MWB4776.JPG
They have fossils for sale at the shop, as well as a many that do not appear to be available for purchase, but are there strictly as educational, or museum pieces.

_MWB4759.JPG
These polished rocks are my grandson's favorites. I've considered getting a rock polisher just so that I could polish some of the rocks he finds.

_MWB4753.JPG

_MWB4819.JPG
Nederland's history has it's roots in mining and old mining equipment can still be seen all over towns, re-purposed into flower beds and lawn ornaments.


Rebele93-footer-clear.png

If you liked this post, please consider upvoting, following and resteeming!

Sort:  

It just occurred to me that I have never see a fossil with my own two eyes. The Utah Dendrites look so beautiful, they look like an art piece.

I was amazed by them!

Love seeing these photos! I'm a rockhound and a photographer...but I have to say, when I'm in a rock shop or at a desert rock swap meet, I can never focus long enough to photograph...I'm too enamored by the gorgeous rocks! I've put this rock shop on my list to visit when I'm wandering through Colorado. Thanks!!

Thanks For sharing these photo with us whenever i go to Nederland i would visit this rock and gem shop

This is the picture to watch !! Talk about your taken pictures! Things like expensive! We are very expensive! For giving such a blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99