Traveling to Oberstdorf; Bad pictures, good story! 4/365-day blog challenge

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Good morning Steemit!

Today is the day! It's around 04:50 a.m. when I am writing this firsts part of the blog. Soon I will be leaving, headed for Oberstdorf. My bags are packed, the car is fueled and we are all bursting of excitement! This first drive will be precisely 662 km, which will take us approximately 6 to 7 hours (if we do not experience too much traffic). See you at the first stop!

photo_2017-07-17_19-22-05.jpg

This is a picture of Oberstdorf I took immediately after we arrived, so... it is a bit of a spoiler. But as you see, it is wel worth the trip!

  • 11:30 a.m. just about time for my second cappuccino! As expected, I already had one around 05:00 a.m., which provided the necessary caffein to start this undertaking. However, by now we already drove 4 hours, which brought us halfway (close to Frankfurt)! So, about time to have our first stop (never knew it could be so divine to stretch my legs!) and replenish my caffein-levels. Cappuccinos, one of my many travel-essentials, haha...

photo_2017-07-17_19-21-39.jpg

Quite a good cappo for a road restaurant!

  • 01:00 p.m. the first sign of my beloved mountains, the majestic Alps! Beautiful as always. The last time I saw them was not long ago, the past winter in fact, but I hardly recognized them. They look so, so different without their snowy tops. Now they are vividly green, as the sparkling centerpiece of mother nature celebrating the ongoing summer! My hearth might have skipped a beat, as the panorama revealed itself before our eyes. As though I am a city boy... Maastricht has 120k inhabitants, so... let me rephrase; as though I am a small city boy, my hearth belongs to the mountains.

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-17 om 22.10.21.png

On this picture, it may not look like much, but believe me it was...

  • 02:30 p.m., we already arrived in Oberstdorf! We will be staying in Wittelsbacher Hof, our family's go-to hotel in the region. It is a classic Bayerish hotel, which provides the full Alp-experience; the waiters will be wearing Lederhosen and Dirndl (I will make photos for you guys!!!), and the hotel itself is basically an giant swiss chalet.

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-17 om 18.51.14.png

Quite nice right?

  • 03:00 p.m. We had just arrived in Oberstdorf, but we were starving! That is why we immediately visited the town center (without even visiting our rooms or unloading the car!! Yea, that is how hungry we were...) We found a nice place to eat, and ordered some Schnitzels. Unfortunately I do not have any picture of these, but they were delicious (I am not yet used to blogging, so something I forget to make pictures...).

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-17 om 21.58.44.png

However, I have made a pretty bad picture of the center, so... you could pretend to be happy with that? (I will try to make it up to you tomorrow! Promised, promised though...)

  • At the moment it is 09:30 p.m. I am in my room, extremely tired, and ready for bed! This was the first time I ever drove this far by myself, and I am happy that we made it all in one piece. We already had a great time, but there is many more to come!
    Tomorrow we will probably go climbing, but I will let you know! And this time I will not forget to make pictures (I hope at least I won't... haha, beginning blogger problems)

photo_2017-07-17_19-22-01.jpg

This picture is actually not half bad, I present you: The view from my balcony!

I Hope you guys enjoyed this first blog about my trip! If you did feel free to upvote, comment and follow! And if you did, I might add some actual decent photos for tomorrows blog <3

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-17 om 21.59.03.png

To top it all of, I also have this tremendous front-cam selfie of my little sister and me when we just arrived at the hotel. Enjoy :p

I guess I will go to sleep now, and dream about the many blogs to come, and the beautiful pictures I will be able to show you guys! See you tomorrow!

Much love

Raoul

Sort:  

Beautiful places. Get that caffffffffeiiiine going!

@unprovoked I know right! Have you ever been there? I will be posting about it for the upcoming 4 days! As I will be hiking and climbing here <3

@niko77, Thank you! I will be posting a lot more. Actually, I am planning to be posting for at least the upcoming 361-days, haha.
And if you are interested in my travel plan, you can finds that here!

Wow! You did good post my friend @raoulhermanns and interesting article! Look on my post ! I write very interesting story!
https://steemit.com/travel/@bugavi/the-largest-escape-of-pigs

@bugavi! Many thanks! I will check it out, it sound very interesting!

Great post and some fantastic photos.
My heart too is in the mountains, and my roots. I am Austro-Hungarian. My Mother came from Hallein /Salzburg.

@katdvine, you really found the photos fantastic, haha?! I will make better once today!
Salzburg is great, have never been there, but I heard it is beautiful? Have you been there?

Nice post, enjoy your holiday.

@twinner, Thank you! I will be staying in the mountains for the upcoming 4 days, then I will be going to Verona, Porto Santo Stephano and Limone sul Garda (all located in the beautiful Italy). If you interested in upcoming posts you can follow me, or check my travel plan here!

enjoy the stay in beautiful Austria :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06