Change Your Mind About a Flight? Get a Refund!

in #travel5 years ago

24 hour cancellation.png

You are probably familiar with the term non-refundable fare. It accompanies almost every airline ticket that is sold today on every airline. If you want to buy a fully refundable airline ticket from an airline then you will be charged a heavy premium for that flexibility. So how can you get a refund on a non-refundable ticket if you change your mind about your travel?

The 24 Hour Rule

Although your fare is categorized as non-refundable, there is a window of time where you can get all of your money back from the airline. If you request a refund on your ticket within 24 hours of booking then you can get a full refund on that ticket.

This option gives you some flexibility in your travel plans. Once I find a fare that looks pretty good to me for my travel, I will usually book it and continue to search for something better. There is no risk to me if I remember to cancel the original fare when I find something better. At least I already have something booked. When I find a better fare or better itinerary I simply request a refund on my original ticket.

You can also use the 24 hour refund window when you make a mistake on your ticket. You may have picked the wrong date or picked a flight that was leaving later than you wanted to go. When you get your confirmation you may find that you provided some incorrect personal information to the airline. All of these issued can easily be fixed within 24 hours of booking.

When you book your flight it is important to make sure the itinerary matches your travel needs, but if you change your mind or make a mistake, use the 24 hour refund window to make the changes you need so you don't end up with an unusable ticket!

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17