🌺 Getting to Know Cape Town: #2 De Waal Park 🌺

in #travel7 years ago

Hey Steem Fam!

I had such a fantastic response to my first "Getting to Know Cape Town" post yesterday, that I immediately decided to do another!

My first feature in this series is De Waal Park

Founded in 1881, by David Christiaan de Waal, who just so happened to be besties with Cecil John Rhodes, De Waal Park is now a picturesque community park. Just one road away from my apartment, I love visiting the park for a bit of fresh air and people watching.

dsc05671.jpg source

It's winter in Cape Town, which surprisingly to you folk in the USA and Europe, means that it is BALLS cold! I've snapped a few winter shots of the park. Table Mountain lurks somberly behind the grey, voluminous clouds. The trees are naked and shivering, and dogs and stray kids run crazily around, expending some energy before dinner

IMG_0929.jpgIMG_0924.jpg
IMG_0922.jpg

Summer is, however, another story though, with temperatures reaching 30'C(86'F) and over most days. During the summer months, the park runs a series of concerts, aptly named "Concerts in the Park" on Sundays. The vibe is chilled, with people laying around on blankets, drinking wine and smoking pot (this is Cape Town, after all). Dogs and kids have the run of the park, while the ill-fated squirrels hide out in their trees.

1920471_10152249586330908_1116281743_n.jpg1609866_10152249586790908_368358609_n.jpg

The bands/musicians range from philharmonic orchestras to country music and then to reggae and rock bands. All local of course - because LOCAL IS LEKKER, as we say here. (Lekker is Afrikaans for nice, but it's just one of those words that loses it's energy once translated to English)

1.jpg

My friend @heypapalegend (Ross) and his band The Rudimentals play every year. The park is packed with people and it's just such a vibe! I've dropped a Soundcloud link to one of their songs below. If you like dancehall/reggae/roots etc, you'll love their sound

I can't wait to hear your thoughts on my new Cape Town series! Leave me a comment below!

💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💜 💗 💜 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💜 💗 💜

follow @princessmewmew

Steem-Minnow-Food.gif

Sort:  

It rocks, beautiful memories!!

Thanks, boob. Good times :)

Really nice post!! I can feel the vibe of capetown through the music...I love it! Keep them posts coming princess :)

Thank you! Did you give the song a listen? It's great hey!

Yes I like it! I feel the vibes of city with this lovely music ☺

liked and followed :)

It looks great @princessmewmew!
I like more in winter time :)
Thank you for introducing people (and me of course) with Cape Town. I've never been there!

Following you for more posts like this! :)

It's stunning in winter! Also much quieter, which I'm sure the squirrels are grateful for 💓

Geez, almost forgot it is winter over there now haha! Thanks for another great post on a great city! @Finance2Nomad

Thanks so much!! Yes, it is frrreeeezing here! And we don't have indoor heating like overseas, so it's freezing inside too ! ☹️

Hey fellow Capetonian :) Lets make some steemit magic! :D

This post has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 6.87 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @princessmewmew. Vote for Aggroed!

Beautiful!! Is it legal to smoke pot in capetown?
I love nice parks that you can go take a blanket and a bottle of wine and chill out in!
awesome that you live so close :)

Hahaha... it wasn't legal for a long time, but they've just changed the laws, in still not sure what is and isn't legal, but you can have it at home I think ... I should check!

Nice articles neighbour .... spent many months running around that park and up to the water reservoir and down again {smile}... Hope to see you tomorrow
https://steemit.com/steemit/@themagus/steemit-meetup-reminder-to-cape-town-steemians

Ah thank you for your nice comment!

I won't be able to make it tomorrow, but I will come if you do it again !

okay pity... next time we do it will likely be at my favorite spot in Cape Town...Orinoco .

Thanks man! Let me know. I will come if I am able!

Sure Princes {smile}.. will possibly be in late August some time

Lekker!!! Ek is mal daaroor!

You do such a great job of translating the pictures into a story, making the whole experience awesome! I love the music there, the laid back feel and yes, I think I could easily slip into the lifestyle!

Nice post! Upvoted

Well done! That was great Afrikaans!

Did you go to a concert when you were here? They're really fun. Also Kirstenbosch Concerts are amazing

Thank you for your support!

I did! I also went to see a dance troupe while I was there. Both outstanding! Also: it has allowed for the possession, cultivation and use dagga at home, for private use.

So I guess I'm alll gooood at home then 😉

I actually want to thank you for your comment, Denise!

You mentioned how I brought the pictures to life, and it helped me to think of another writing method. So consider yourself an "inspirer" ... 👏🏻

Yay! I look forward to the next chapter ! I really like your writing style.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65364.69
ETH 2650.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86