The Getty Center in Los Angeles --> a must see!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

The J. Paul Getty Museum seeks to inspire curiosity about, and enjoyment and understanding of, the visual arts by collecting, conserving, exhibiting and interpreting works of art of outstanding quality and historical importance. –Getty

Ever had one of those boring days where you just wanna go out and do whatever? One ordinary day, My partner and I drove to Getty center to kill time. It was late in the afternoon and we’re waiting for the traffic to subside. The drive from Hollywood to Sherman Oaks feels like taking forever so instead of being stuck in traffic, we decided to be spontaneous and visit the Getty Center. 

This incredible museum with great architecture is perched on hills above LA near Beverly Hills. You will see the panoramic views of the coast LA, it’s breezy, clean, it makes you want to stay there forever. It’s just fantastic man, I’m telling you. Even if you don’t gaze at their art collection, you will appreciate the setting on the hill, the architectural design, and the beautiful gardens. 

I learned that they have two locations; one in Getty Center in Los Angeles and the other one in Getty Villa in Malibu. I was surprised how big it was! We have to take a tram from the parking lot going up to the museum. The tram ride was lots of fun, it will make you get excited for your visit. The layout of the center is open and very cozy. When we got in, there’s a bunch of international tourists in the main lobby. I can tell they are tourists coz they were arranged in a big group with a guide holding a flag pole to follow her. 

The admission is free but the parking fee is $15, which is not bad for two people. The place is over-the top grandiose. You will see European paintings, sculpture, decorative arts, illuminated manuscripts, drawings, and photography from the old days to the present, collected from different parts of the world. 

The café and restaurant both have an excellent view and outdoor seating area. Make a reservation for the restaurant ahead of time coz there can be a long queue. There was a wide variety of choices, real foods that all looked really good. The food and the service at the restaurant are topnotch but kinda expensive in my opinion. 

My favorite part was the peaceful environment and beautiful garden. They have flowers that were nicely displayed and intelligently arranged. I saw something similar like that in Singapore’s Gardens by the Bay. Maybe they hire the same landscape architect. Anyways, you can literally spend an entire day just roaming around the grounds. There are not many trees but it was cool-looking because you can see the ocean on a clear day. 

 Conclusion:

The incredible collections blew me away and the amazing views alone are worth the trip! It is tough to explore everything in just one day because the place is really big, grand, modern and exciting. I think multiple visits are highly recommended if you want to maximize the tour. This is an ABSOLUTE must see in Los Angeles! You will not regret it. 

J. Paul Getty Museum
1200 Getty Center Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90049-1687

Phone: +1 (310) 440-7330
Fax: +1 (310) 440-7751
E-mail: (for general Museum inquiries) [email protected] 


I hope you enjoyed this post! Do you like going to museums? 

Namaste! 🙏🏻❤️


P.S. I blog here and at PinayNomad

Sort:  

As a local it is def one of my favorite places to take out of towners! Following!

Yup! And it's free! Just gotta pay for parking. 😊

My truly inspiration @pinaymomad :D you get to travel a lot !!!!! and I wish I could :( I'll keep on tune on your traveling post ! throw in some tips too!

oh cheap places in PH or TH maybe?

You will travel more than me for sure. Just focus at school for now. 😝
Cheap places in PH and Thailand? Sure! That would be a lengthy post for sure! lol

Wow that place looks incredible!!! If/when I ever get the chance to travel to LA I'll have to make sure this place is on the itinerary! Thanks for sharing!

Yeah you should visit Meg! It's rated 5-star rating on Trip Advisor. 😊

You are wealthy in health, lovelife, and money. You're so lucky you can travel around the world too. It is only my daydream to explore these beautiful spots and ohh, I like your dress here. You look like a teen.

Thanks mate! Love, health, and happiness is the key! I'm sure you can travel the world too! Just need to work hard and focus in reaching your goal. 😊

Do I look like a teen? lol thanks! I'm in my twenties.

IKR. hehe. I'm in my twenties, too. Maybe I am older than you but you have many travel experiences. You told me in discord of your age but I forgot if it was 24 or 25.

Traveling is my passion. 😊
I can't remember chatting with you. I deleted Discord long time ago.

A fun trip @pinaynomad. Visiting mesium wears course we learn about the past. I like to walk to mesium with family, of course give picture to children about life in the past.

Yeah, of course, we learn about the history of the artworks and the antique stuff. Thanks for your comment! 😊

I have driven pass there but I never went exploring. I'll need to visit. Thanks for video. upvote

what video? 😊

Duh, my mistake. I should have wrote pictures.

haha! Yeah I didn't have any videos on this post, just photos. :)

Yes, I do enjoy going to the museums. :)

thanks for your comment. I'm glad you enjoy artworks and history like I do. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85