Exploring Tokyo - City View from the Mori Art Museum

in #travel6 years ago

I suppose most people who visit Tokyo like to go to the Skytree as it's one of the most famous landmarks and can give a good view of the city. Since I was staying in the Asakusa area it wasn't too far away from my accommodation, but I was tipped off by a Japanese friend to go to Roppongi Hills instead to visit both the Mori Art Museum and see the view from the top where I could catch a better glimpse of the city.

The Mori Art Museum was a nice experience overall, featuring an exhibit about the future depicted in art and commentary on how the world will change in the minds of these artists. Now looking back it seems really fitting as living in this Steemit world tends to make you think about this type of stuff more than your average person. For example I've been thinking alot lately about how this platform and others like it will change the way in which we view content and how blockchain will directly affect every aspect of our lives. Once you think about this kind of thing it suddenly sparks new possibilities in your mind. Like opening pandora's box, after you can't go back.

On the top of the art museum is a view of the city that gives you the chance to capture Tokyo Tower with its red and white stripes. Since it was a little dark and I was only carrying my small travel camera the pictures came out quite grainy. Saying that they are still ok and I thought I would post them up for my Steemit followers here. You should definitely visit Mori Art Museum if you're ever in Tokyo. Even though Roppongi Hills as an area has a little bit of a bad image I didn't experience any problems and it was very enjoyable to visit this museum.

Click here to read more about the Mori Art Museum →


More from my Travels in Japan:

Exploring Naoshima - A Visit to the Lee Ufan Museum
Naoshima - Tadao Ando's Concrete Walls
Exploring Osaka - Inside the TRUCK Furniture Showroom
Exploring Tokyo - Hama Rikyu Gardens
Exploring Tokyo - A Visit to Sensoji Temple in Asakusa
Exploring Kyoto - Tenryuji Temple & Grounds
Exploring Kyoto - A Visit to Fushimi Inari Shrine


Please follow me for more interesting art, design and travel content @oen

Sort:  

Hi @oen! The photo's are actually amazing!
Haven't been to Japan yet, but I'd love to include this on my list.

I will be in Naha though for a little time ( approx 7 hours😅) on May as part of a tour that I'll be in, but I don't know what to expect yet. They have a list of pre-organized tour, but you can also do DIY if you want to. I'm inclined on just taking one of the tours, but a DIY would also be nice. Any thoughts?

Btw, I've been thinking a lot about this, too:

I've been thinking alot lately about how this platform and others like it will change the way in which we view content and how blockchain will directly affect every aspect of our lives. Once you think about this kind of thing it suddenly sparks new possibilities in your mind. Like opening pandora's box, after you can't go back.

I feel like this is the next Facebook, but I can't imagine just yet how big the impact will be.

Thanks for your comment. Naha? In Okinawa? Wow, sounds really fun. I've never been to that part but I think you should just try the tour maybe. What kind of DIY? lol

Yeah. I think there is a lot of time for Steemit to develop yet, but I'm glad we're in early to help shape it in some way. Probably only a small way on my part lol But still exciting nonetheless.

That's right, in Okinawa. I wanted to a DIY because there are two places that I'd want to visit, but they are included in two different tours. So I'm confused which one to choose.😅

But if I do a DIY, im afraid of getting lost or I might run out of time!

This is first tour:
Shuri Castle
AEON Shopping mall
Kokusaidori

This is the second:
Manzamou
Glass Bottom Boat
Mihama American Village

And I can only select one, but I also wanna see Manzamou and just skip the Aeon shopping mall.😅😅

And yeah, im really glad we got in early.😄

love the aesthetic of the photos ^.^

Thanks @sheldrick5. Yeah, it was dark but they still came out ok :)

Very good shots!

Really appreciate it @geohase. Thanks for leaving a comment too.

nice photo..
👍

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-tokyo-city-view-from-the-mori-art-museum


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23