Travel to Bosnia and Herzegovina

in #travel6 years ago

Hi, guys!

   The last four days I was on my way to Bosnia and Herzegovina. For the first time I went to this beautiful country and I was delighted. I arrived just this morning and because of that, I did not write anything in the past. But now I would like to share with you this beautiful time spent in this country and in some of the following posts I will write to you about the cities of this country, which left a great impression on me. 

   Bosnia is about 290 km from my country and consists of two entities: the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina and the Republic  of Serbia.  Bosnia and Herzegovina is a state in Southeast Europe, on the Balkan Peninsula. It is predominantly a mountainous country and occupies an area of 51 000 km2. In the north, west and south it borders Croatia, in the southeast with Montenegro and in the east with Serbia, my country. She goes to the Adriatic Sea and the capital of this state is Sarajevo. This time I did not have the opportunity to go to this city, however, I hope that this opportunity will be given to me once.  

   We gathered in front of our faculty at seven o'clock in the morning. Of course, we did not leave immediately, as we waited for the bus. There were around 150 students in front of the faculty, as well as professors who went with us. We knew that the way to Bosnia would not be that easy for us, because it is a long way to go, especially to me. However, since I had a lot of society, I did not even notice that the time was fast moving. 




Passing through my country and looking at all her beauty, for the first time I noticed a statue, in the town of Ljig. I did not pay attention to her before and I wanted to find out what kind of story she was carrying with her.

“The monument to the battle of Ljig in 1941” was erected in 1981, at the entrance to Ljig, in memory of the struggle in the Second World War. At the monument, a man of three meters high, made in bronze, is shown. The sculpture was placed on a concrete foundation, 2,1 meters high, decorated with memorial plaques. The author of the monument is the Serbian sculptor Oto Logo.  



   We took the first break after two hours, in my hometown, called Cacak. The break lasted for about half an hour, so we took the opportunity to go to Ovcar Spa, which is located 17 km from Cacak, in the wooded part of Ovcar-Kablar Gorge, through which the river West Morava flows. Two artificial lakes used for sport fishing were built on the river. Ovcar Spa is recommended for: rheumatic diseases, arthrosis, spondylosis, bone fracture and many other diseases...  




After this break, we did not make a break until the border, which is two hours away from my city. At the border we waited for about an hour to check us passports, because there are still many people. After exhaustive waiting, we continued our journey and after half an hour we arrived at the first destination in Bosnia - Visegrad.  

   Visegrad is a town in the eastern part of Bosnia and Herzegovina, on the Drina river. The city has about 6,000 inhabitants and is located in the valley of the Drina river. At the place where the mountains are separated stands a stone bridge 500 years old with 11 arches, better known to everyone as "Bridge on the Drina " (“Na Drini ćuprija”). The bridge is about 250 meters long and about 10 meters wide, but it is expanded in the middle with two terraces, which make up the gate. On the left terrace there is a pillar on which a board with a inscription from the time of 1571 on the one who built the bridge and the year when it was built. On the right side there is a terrace called Sofa. It is raised with two steps and enclosed by a stone fence. After the main part of the partition there is the mouth of the river Rzav in the Drina, one of the largest rivers flowing through Serbia.  








   In Visegrad there is also Andricgrad or Kamengrad, a cultural center, whose designer is Emir Kusturica. The city is built of stone and it has a city theater, modern cinema, city administration, academy of fine arts, Andric's gymnasium building, dock, hotels, squares and memorial house of Ivo Andric. Here, in 2016, an international Academy of Arts was established to educate actors and directors.  

  Ivo Andric was a Serbian writer and diplomat who received the Nobel Prize for literature in 1961. He graduated and received his doctorate in Austrian Grac and he was a member of the Serbian Academy of sciences and arts, which he received in 1926. His most famous works are: "Bridge on the Drina" ("Na Drini ćuprija "and "Damn the avenue" ("Prokleta avlija"). In his works, he mostly talked about his life in Bosnia.  












   Monument to Njegos is located on the square in Andricgrad. It was discovered in 2013 by Matija Beckovic. The monument is identical to the monuments located in Podgorica and Belgrade. Petar II Petrović Njegoš was the ruler of Montenegro and one of the greatest Serbian poets and philosophers. He is respected as a poet and philosopher and he is best known for his poem "Mountain Wreath" ("Gorski vijenac"), which is considered a masterpiece.


   This is the first part of my trip and I hope you like it. Soon, expect a continuation. All pictures and video are mine, photographed with my mobile phone.

Sort:  

That's pretty damn good for mobile phone shots.

I really liked seeing the architecture and statues, though I admit one of my favorites is the bridge - I just really like bridges.

Thanks for sharing this.

Thank you very much. I like bridges too and I think this is one of the most beautiful on Balkan. I wanted to take my Nikon camera, however, I forgot it and because of that, must photographed with my phone. I'm glad you like my post. :)

Одличан посао @nesni996, као и она нова репортажа о Мостару. Можемо ли очекивати и верзије на српском?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85