Chandni Chowk Market - one of India's oldest marketsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

If you're the kind of person who values personal space, then this place isn't for you.

The Chandni Chowk is one of the oldest and busiest markets in Old Delhi, India. Chandni Chowk is located close to Old Delhi Railway Station.

It was built in the 17th century when Emperor Shahjahan shifted his capital from Agra to Delhi. It became the heart and soul of the commercial activities of the Moghul Empire and the legend continues till today.

P1011157.jpg

P1011156.jpg

P1011165.jpg

P1011167.jpg

This market is far from the conventional air conditioned malls and gorgeous shops with plush interiors in posh markets.

P1011170.jpg

P1011171.jpg

You can find everything from clothes, carpets, electronics, souvenirs and artifacts, homeware, handicrafts, and much else. Bargaining is the norm for most things so take your best stern face to the game, and come home with something really special.

A good method is to spend some time working a price down, then to feign disinterest and prepare to leave. Most often, a new “best” price will be offered, and you will have saved yourself a considerable amount of money. :)

P1011153.jpg

P1011159.jpg

P1011147.jpg

P1011151.jpg

If you ever want to try a different kind of shopping experience and want to know what chaos looks like, give it a try!

P1011180.jpg

P1011185.jpg

P1011143.jpg

P1011196.jpg

If you have a passion for traveling please don't forget to follow!

Also, upvoting keeps me motivated. :D

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Wow - I really do enjoy your posts. They are lively and for a moment there I could feel the groove of that buzzing street!

Reminds me the market around the Charminar of hyderabad. Its also the best place to shop n taste the famous Biryani :)
You're from india ?

Thanks! I better check out that one from Hyderabad. Im from Canada but I have traveled all over India :)

Thats great! Travelling is the best thing one can do in their life, Enjoy my friend :) be safe, travel more.

great post ! follow me :)

Looks cool and all but I won't be caught dead there. I don't like to be in places that are so busy. I like my own space

A different kind of experience but I guess it's not for everyone. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mywanderlust from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Nice article!!! Wow, busy, busy, busy, definitely not for the faint hearted :) Check me out and like and follow if you enjoy my introduction :):)

Thank you. Your intro post is funny. followed you :D

Cool, glad you liked it :):) and thanks for the follow :)

great ,, I love traveling

so cool! I want to go to India.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94