JACO ISLAND (How we reached the big goal) - People of East Timor (10 - final episode)

in #travel7 years ago

Hello my dear Steemians and welcome to this final episode of “People of East Timor”!!!


So far,

Today, we finally reach the goal of our trip: Jaco Island, a lonely island off the east coast of East Timor.

Jaco Island

When we woke up that day in our tiny chamber in the hotel in Tutuala, we hadn’t slept much. But that didn't matter at all, the three of us were extremely excited to finally go to Jaco Island. Jana and Thomas went to have breakfast, whereas I wanted to go to the bathroom first. After I had done what people do in the bathroom, I wanted to join them. I tried to open the door but the handle was broken and I couldn’t get out. I was trapped in the bathroom…

I didn’t have a phone with me, but even if I had had one, it wouldn’t have had service. The room in which my friends were having breakfast was too far to hear me yelling, so there was no other chance than waiting till they were done eating and would come looking for me.

After about 45 minutes, I heard Thomas approaching. He was kinda angry and asked me what the hell I was doing, we wanted to leave to Jaco soon. I explained the situation and we consulted with each other through the door. I told him to get the woman from the village who worked in the hotel. He said something like “ah fuck it” and kicked the door in. I was so surprised, it was really funny.

This is what the result looked like
sccs-1.jpg

sccs-2.jpg

So after Thomas, my personal hero, had freed me from the chains of the bathroom, I had some breakfast as fast as I could and we packed our things. We would leave most of our stuff in the hotel and just take light baggage to Jaco. After all, it would be a trek of a few hours downhill to reach the coast.

Perfectly prepared and excited as f**, we went down the hill pretty fast.

On the way, we passed graveyards…
Jaco Island

hung out with some cool youngsters…
Jaco Island

and met some locals heading the same direction (fortunately they weren’t planning on going to “our” lonely island).
Jaco Island

Once we arrived at the bottom of the hill, we needed to figure out how to actually go to the island.
Jaco Island

Jaco Island

Jaco Island

Jaco Island

We talked to some very nice fishermen and I took portraits of them:
Jaco Island

Jaco Island

In the end, we paid a guy with a little boat to take us to Jaco Island. He would bring us there and pick us up about 6h later. We would pay him afterwards, just to be sure he would come back ;-).

Jaco Island

Jaco Island

The boat ride was only a few minutes and the little gem we reached was incredibly beautiful. No signs of humans as far as you could see. Turquoise water, white sand and a forest just a few meters from the beach. It was a dream come true! Our only island, I was reminded of movies like Cast Away and it felt unbelievable.

Jaco Island

Jaco Island

Jaco Island

Jaco Island

Jaco Island

Jaco Island

Jaco Island

We went swimming and snorkeling, walked for an hour along the beach and just enjoyed being at this incredible place. We were so happy and proud to have made it there. When Jana and Thomas were lying at the beach, I kept walking around and taking the above pictures. I just can’t help it sometimes…

A few hours later, we saw the fisherman coming back. It was about time since sunset would be two hours later and we also had run out of fresh water. Happy and grateful, we went back to the mainland (well, actually the main island) and had some food in a little restaurant/shack at the beach. In there, we met the first other western people in days: 2 Portuguese who were living in East Timor working for an NGO.

Jaco Island

Fortunately, they had a car – also the first one we had seen in days – and took us with them back to Tutuala. It was a crazy ride, the car was made for concrete roads (I forgot the model), and the way back up was a dirt road with huge rocks here and there. But we were glad to get back without climbing a hill after sunset... Thanks for that, guys!

Back in our hotel, we were so exhausted, we basically went straight to bed. The next day we started our journey back to Dili as fast as we could. We made it in two days, in time for our flight back to Denpasar, riding in the back of trucks and some busses again…

This wraps it up for today. The end of my “People of East Timor” series. I hope I could take you with me on my trip and show you a place in the world few people ever heard of!

Thanks for all your comments, upvotes and follows! I hope you enjoyed the ride!

Till then,
keep wandering and wondering,

Love,

mr.wonderlust

Sort:  

Really good series :)!do you have any similar trips coming up? It amazes me how well you capture the people you see and meet along the way, but don't they ever wonder why you suddenly pull a camera on them? Haha:)

thanks a lot, holm! I still need to write about a lot of my trips in the last months, I traveled like crazy! I always try to connect with them first before I pull the camera on them haha

Ein Hammer travel post..Muss belohnt werden.Resteemed

Danke für all die Unterstützung, kann ich gut gebrauchen. Ich schreibe gerne lange Beiträge mit vielen Fotos, aber wenn die dann mit 2 Cent bewertet werden, ist das irgendwie frustrierend, nicht wegen dem Geld, einfach weil man dann das Gefühl hat, dass das eh keinen interessiert :-D

Ich kann Dich gut verstehen ich kenne das Gefühl ,aber gebe nicht auf das das wird schon.Manche gute Post kaufen auch bei mir mal ins leere.Du hast traumhafte Bilder setze doch das ein oder andere Bild mal bei einer Challenge rein.Heute ist #treetuesday also schöne Bilder alles was mit Bäumen zu tun hat,morgen auch was für dich speziell #beachwednesday und so gibt es täglich eine andere Challenge..nicht ärgern das wird.Wünsche Dir einen schönen Tag

vielen vielen Danke für die aufmunternden Worte. Ich werde weiter viel Fotografie teilen! Und letztlich ist es ja auch schon schön wenn ein paar Leute wie du es lesen...

Schöne Bilder. Cool, dass du Leute unterwegs ablichtest, hat was

vielen Dank! Ja Leute sind am Interessantesten

Looks like fun! I need some travel in my life...

I know, traveling is the best

These pictures are fantastic. What a great experience. It really makes me want to visit East Timor and reminds me of some of the out of the way places I've been in Indonesia and Nicaragua. Thank you for taking the time to share this experience with us. I'm glad I didn't miss this final post as I've been following all the other ones.

thanks so much! I will actually post my next story about Nicaragua, still gonna take some work though...

I've found I can work through my better posts using my notepad on the computer with a markdown template to help me get the formatting I want without retyping that all the time. And I've started working my way through my pictures organizing them for when I'm ready to write the story.

I'm kinda doing the same, keep it up..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59214.59
ETH 2524.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48