Quick Trip Update: Mr. Wild Camper and the Holy Tractor

in #travel5 years ago

Hoooooorray readers! This will be a quick series to update during the cycling - The restart!


Current Position: Padova in Italy.

Leaving my cozy bathroom accommodation on that somehow gray and foggy morning was not easy; of course not for the comfort of sleeping in there at all , but because outside was outrageously cold and the bathroom had heaters on, which made the whole situation less terrible. Yet, eventually I left and found the way to the supermarket to resupply and carry on with the journey.

At that point I was in Hartberg, a small town south of Vienna, the restarting point of the trip after freaking out with the snow and headwinds on the mighty Euro Velo 13. I was again on the Euro Velo 9 following the many kilometers inside dark forests full of loggers and muddy trails that provided quite a lot of fun when you are riding a tough mountain bike.

The day was still not promising and clouds were covering the sky on the first day of cycling towards Slovenia, just to balance with the good energies coming from the forests; a perfect opposition to the boring farmlands I had been cycling through before.

thumb.jpg


Mr. Wild Camper and the Holy Tractor

Forests are a great source of positive energy, something good that goes through our body no matter how cold it is, there's that sense of feeling energetic and motivated - do you feel the same? They are also the best wild camping spots you can ever find - protected, away from hassle and with plenty of space to put a tent. The farmlands on the other hand, are generally flat and private, everyone will see your sparky tent, unless you find a bush.

In Austria, finding a forest to wild camp is not difficult, they are everywhere and there are all sorts of side roads and trails used by loggers. It's just a matter of exploring, having a good eye to pick the best spot and having common sense as to where you'll camp, because most of the forests have loggers working all day and some tractors passing by; other, more isolated forests, can have hunters and wild animals.

This is the fun about wild camping, you never know what to expect and finding the perfect spot is just like playing hide and seek without hiding too much, or you'll either be runned over by a tractor or wake up with a big tree falling over your tent. You don't want to be seen though, perhaps just a little bit.

DSC_5942.jpg

Click image to enlarge!


The Holy Tractor

However, while packing on that sunny morning I heard the terrifying sound of a mighty tractor. It was approaching and the uncertainty of not knowing if I'd run into problems was sending shivers through my spinne. I have to act normal, pack and go - I thought. Even though I was somehow protected by trees from all the sides, there was no way that the logger wouldn't see me there. What if he comes here to ask what I'm doing? - I was thinking.

The sound got louder and louder when I finally decided to pretend I had no clue about the rules against wild camping. I grabbed my camera and got out of the bushes to photograph the tractor, which is one of my passions. I couldn't believe, coming out of the woods, there it was - The Holy Tractor, with all the sun rays empowering its magestic glory, one of the rarest and not evil species of tractors. From that moment on I knew the days would be better, The Holy Tractor had brough the happiness back and the sun was out again.

DSC_5946.jpg

Click image to enlarge!


The Sun is Back

The following days after the encounter with the Holy Tractor were bright and sunny, the contours on the hilly landscape provided an outstanding eyesight of the horizon. Following the ups and downs of the road felt great on the pedals and I had something to see, not just endless flat farmlands.

DSC_5949.jpg

DSC_5966.jpg


The pace continued strong on the saddle, kilometers flew past as I stopped here and there to photograph and the ultimate goal to reach Slovenia, after one month on the road, now seemed reachable.

Would it be warmer? Colder? Would the even higher mountains stop me? I didn't know, but the enthusiasm of approaching a new country completely gave me a boost to keep on going on those last days in Austria. But let's reserve the story for the upcoming episodes of the saga.

Come with me ladies and gentleman! Are you enjoying?

If you liked this post, please, consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer:  The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

You may also want to read:

[vlog #28] My2018: Just a normal day | Is travelling different from being at home?

[vlog #27] A quick, clumsy and HUMONGOUS thank you!

Quick Trip Update: Restarting After Bad Weather & Sleeping on a Bathroom (text content)

Quick Trip Update: Over the Border: Austria & Hungary

[Blog #49] Revisiting Bratislava | Seeking Sunsets | Photography

CO-FOUNDER AND CURATOR ON:

A PROUD MEMBER OF:

Sort:  

I really like your style of story telling...loved The Holy Tractor :))

Oh that's sweet, thanks for the comment! Well, you know how terrifying it is to hear a tractor when we are wild camping, right? Fortunately that one came from heaven hahahah

You have been on the road for quite some time! Well done! 👍

I've seen a few posts come through about your time cycling in Europe, but I have to be honest and say haven't read any of them apart from this one. So, where has your journey taken you and what's next?

Posted using Partiko Android

Heeeeeeeeyho @travelling-two! The posts are following some weird order, they are in order of events but they are being uploaded with a delay from my actual position.

I'm now in Padova, north of Italy. I'll head East to West following the Pó river up to Turin. So far I have cycled from Krakow (Poland) all the way to here, which includes Czech Republic, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary and Slovenia.

It's been almost two months now, I started on 12th of November.

Heyyyy! Nice to hear back from you!

Wow, what a journey and a great plan. It must be different seeing those countries from a bike and nature point of view rather than sightseeing the capital or touristic cities/spots. Is there an end destination in sight? Or just going until you feel like stopping?

Posted using Partiko Android

It's awesome, each one of them have its unique touch on the landscapes, plus the villages change quite a lot from one to the other. I love the chaotic constructions on small villages on the more eastern countries, Austria and Czech Rep. it's all so organized aahahau

I run out of Schengen Visa at the end of January, so after Turin I'll go to the UK by train, mainly because I won't have time to get there by bicycle. The plans are to stay around the Uk until April or something, at least until temperatures get warmer.

Ah nice and you can be in the UK without any issues? If you are ever in the south of England or London as Ill be based there eventually, let me know and I'll take you around to some spots 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

That would be epic, yes, I get 6 months of Visa in the UK. So, I'll be around for quite a while, we gotta meet at some point for sure.

i love your approach to the sound of the tractor! that was probably what made it holy 😃 so beautiful!

hihi you have no idea how terrifying to hear tractors on those forests, because if there's a tractor, it means theyh are going to cut trees down, and we don't one falling over the tent!

Thanks for dropping a message! Super awesome new year full of adventure!

Great write up! Love that pic of the "holy tractor". Here's wishing you warm weather, sunshine, and no flat tires :)

Wohoo, coming from you sounds like a great compliment, Cpt.

I was happy that I only had 1 flat tire so far, so yesterday I had two punctures in less than one hour HAHAH

Hi @mrprofessor!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.122 which ranks you at #3188 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 11 places in the last three days (old rank 3177).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 215 contributions, your post is ranked at #103.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Dear @mrprofessor,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Hooray, your story is now listed in our project publication, you can check through our progressive report either from our @fundition project page or @archisteem account. We will be sorting out the seasonal shortlist authors and make an announcement soon for the seasonal reward.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Hello @mrprofessor, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Beautiful photos. Did the Holy tractor have any messages for you?

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14