Travel with me in Naxos islandsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

IMG_20170718_142029.jpg

Dear Steemit friends,

Summer holiday time is finally here. My first stop was one of my favorite islands in Cyclades, Naxos!

Naxos is not much advertised and I believe one of the most undervalued islands in Cyclades. I mean the island has everything one could ever want. It has a lot of amazing beaches, amazing food, a good night life, the down town of "chora" and port is really really nice to walk through and some very picturesque villages (Apiranthos, Argokili and others).

Food:

The food is almost everywhere really nice. There is a big variety of taverns that will suit everyone's needs. My favorite places to eat are "Typografeio" (translated paper press) in "Chora" and Picasso in the beach of Plaka. The first one is Greek cuisine with a twist of Gourmet, really nice food but not the cheapest in the island. Picasso is I believe my favorite Mexican restaurant in the whole Greece. It is just amazing and if you like Mexican food you should definitely try it.

Naxos is very famous for its "graviera" cheese. If you are a cheese lover definitely try the 15 year old graviera and also "arseniko". There is a local store in "Chora" where you can buy all kind of local cheese. It is on the main road so you can not miss it. All local products are amazing in Naxos. Even if you just try the local fresh milk you can immediately see the difference with the craps that they big supermarkets are feeding us in Athens.

Last but not least, do not forget to treat yourself with an ice cream waffle from "Waffle House". There are two "Waffle Houses" in Naxos. One in Chora and one in Plaka beach. The one in Plaka beach is slightly better.

Beaches:

Naxos has a lot of amazing beaches such as Agia Anna, Agios Prokopis, Mikri Vigla. None of these even compares to my favorite beach, the beach of PLAKA!!!

The beach of Plaka is one of my favorite beach in Greece. Golden sand, crystal clear waters and an amazing bottom of the sea. You will be amazed if you catch it on a warm day without wind.

Unfortunately we stayed with my wife in Naxos only for 2 days so we didn't catch a good weather. It was very windy and cloudy. You can see some photos below from the video but so some imagination is needed in order to picture Plaka beach how amazing is in reality.

Enjoy...

PS: @mariandavp Thank you very much for everything. I wish I could see you more and sorry again for the last minute change of plans. Next time we will shake the island together as we used to do..

Sort:  

Thought we would share some STEEM Power with you. Was wondering why you never thought to include pictures of the Food over there?

Thank you very much. The reason i didn't include any pictures of the food is because my wife has many food allergies in nuts,spicy food etc..so unfortunately we didn't ate to either of picasso or typografeio but i had in the past many times so that is why i reccommended them. This time we only had some pizza on the go on a bench at the port and I didn't take any picture of it. Really nice pizza though.. It is called bitpizza so it actually remind me of bitshares which i am a big fun..

Hi friend, very good !!!!!
You would help me with a vote in my post., Thanks !!! ;)

Beautiful! This looks like a great place to go!:) Please check my little journey that I made soon. I hope you enjoy my photos. @nakedchef89

https://steemit.com/photography/@nakedchef89/travel-challenge-11-devetashka-cave

Once you soak in some good island life you are never the same

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84