🐦Driving 10,000km for a few photos 🐦

in #travel6 years ago


And it was worth every kilometre!


Back in 2015 I took 3 weeks off work to get away from society and experience the Western Australian outback on my own.

I hired a 4WD, packed it full of food, beer and camping gear and started driving north. I went straight through the middle of Western Australia from Perth until I hit the northern coast. And from there I made my way back down to Perth along the coastline.

Source

This was by far the best driving holiday that I have ever taken. I drove roads where I wouldn't see another car for hours on end, I slept under the stars every night in my swag, I went days without speaking a word, and I saw the most amazing landscapes and wildlife that I have ever seen.

The Chiming Wedgebill, they have the strangest call.

The White Bellied Sea Eagle was one of the species I was chasing while on this trip. I found him outside of Exmouth and hiked 1.5 kilometres barefoot across a mudflat to catch this photo.

I took this photo of a Variegated Fairy Wren at dawn on a beach near Port Hedland. This was the first photo of the day and the best one by far.

This is a proud Dad feeding his juvenile Masked Wood Swallow. I found these two at Hamelin Pool.

A Crimson Chat, quite common but I'd been wanting a chance to photograph them again for a long time. This bird is one of the reasons I became a little obsessed with wildlife photography. It was the first species that I ever photographed so I was incredibly pleased to find them again at Hamelin Pool.

This type of trip is incredibly refreshing for the mind and body. And while I may have returned home looking as if I'd been sleeping in a gutter for weeks, I felt like a new person and ready to face the real world once again. It's these types of trips that I live for. And it's high time I started planning the next one.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Great video and great pics! You might want to get a green screen. @JerryBanfield and BrandonFrye recently got them. Just an idea.

Thanks mate. I haven't spent any money on video gear yet. Just accumulating enough SBD to be able to get a decent camera. A green screen could be a great idea though. Not that I want to copy anything @jerrybanfield is doing. Can't stand that guy.

You might like @brandonfrye better. lol
Your camera seemed fine to me. I think you can get a green screen for under $100.
You might want so sign up for @dustsweeper.

Thanks for the shoutout. Much appreciated!!

You're welcome. You deserve it. Keep up the good work. Thanks for the upvote.

Beautiful pictures. I can tell they required great patience. Easier to sit after a couple of beers. :-)) Sounds like a great trip. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks mate. Patience is the most important thing in this game.

I met many Aussies that seem to go in the bush/desert/wild on their own. It seems quite common in your country! You guys must have a special connection with the nature.
You got also a great camera and great eye for birds. Are you selling those photos somewhere?

Some of us do love to get out in nature. :)

We have plenty of people who never leave cities as well though.

My camera is one of my prized possessions. I only have one lens for it though which is a telephoto lens. I'd love to have a good lens on it for video and landscapes as well but can't afford them at the moment.

I don't sell my photos. I've often thought about offering some of them for sale. It's probably worth looking into.

Sounds like a great trip, my friend. I have taken my share of solo rod trips, but never like this one. Perhaps I need to pack one in this summer...

Definitely get out in summer. It's winter here in Australia so being outdoors isn't always particularly enjoyable. Can't wait for summer to come by again.

I know that feeling, I do it for drone images lol

Okay, 10,000 kilometers is a lot. I'm still trying to figure out how the math works, but I'll just take your word for it. These are great photos. Very professional looking, and the poses and mid-flight of the birds are just awesome.

I like being alone, but there's also an issue of safety I would think. Never been much for camping out, either, so there's another strike. They just build you all sturdier down in Australia, I reckon. :)

So, when's the next adventure? You're about due, aren't you?

I'm well overdue for another trip. But I suspect wife will need to be brought along on the next one. :)

Don't worry about the math, I spent many days doing laps around the northern parts of WA, that's where a lot of the action is. And that chewed up a tonne of kms.

I didn't even mention Karajini National Park where I spent many days and travelled many km just to see it all.

If you're looking for a place to stay and be totally self reliant, then that's a great spot to start. The gorges are beautiful and the only way to take a shower is to head to the closest waterfall.

There's nowhere to get fuel, no power, and nowhere to buy food (unless you stay at the crappy "eco retreat" which simply isn't recommended).

I stayed at a camp ground where there were no facilities at all. I just had my swag, water, food and some beer of course.

And just after setting up camp I had 2 species of bird that I was there to photograph land in the tree right next to me.... I didn't even have my camera out of it's bag.

Oh and as far as safety is concerned, the only time I felt in danger was when I woke up to a herd of sheep walking over the end of my swag. One of them almost broke my ankle...

And there was the other time when I jumped from the top of a waterfall down to a rock ledge below. I almost broke my other ankle then...

Yeah, okay. I vote for the wife to go with you next time, too, if nothing else than to make you think twice about jumping off of a waterfall. I'm sure it seemed important to do at the time, though. :)

I spent a few days down in the Cancun, Mexico area, and while we didn't rough it, per se, we did stay on the cheap, which meant our accommodations were lousy. The first motel had paper thin walls, concrete slabs where box springs normally go, a thin mattress and a threadbare sheet on top. When my friend and I woke up the next morning, I went to shower and the water just trickled down the wall. So, we waited until later in the day when we stayed in a nicer motel. The water there came from a gravity well on the roof and was ice cold when I stepped in.

The last two places we stayed in after that were nice, though. :)

It did seem like a genius idea to jump down at the time. The outcome made me remember that I was approaching 40 at the time.

I kept on hiking that day, well hobbling at least. And at the end of the day my ankle swelled right up. I spent the remainder of the trip limping about which made my homeless appearance even more effective.

I can only imagine how bad the accommodation can be in Mexico. You were brave to rough it in those parts.

When I was in Canada back in 1999 I stayed in a hostel in some highly questionable part of Vancouver. The room I was directed to was already filled with what appeared to be 5 homeless chaps who all smelled like they hadn't showered in at least 6 months. There were garbage bags everywhere. I walked in, set up my bed, got in it, and decided to pack up and spend the night watching television until sun up instead. Not recommended.

If my wife had been with me, there would have been no way we would have stayed where we did, and she's from Mexico! In fact, when I did go with her, we stayed at a new five-star hotel (they'd discounted 75% off of their current price, making it barely affordable for us at the time). So a definite step up in accommodations, and we rented a car for the entire trip instead of relying on bus, which was another adventure.

Both times, though, we were there for the ruins and the spectacular views of the ocean, so in either case, where we spent the night wasn't as nearly as important, but it was sure nice sleeping on the bed in the hotel the second time around than virtually anything else I slept in the first time. :)

There is a lot to be said for a good bed. After 3 weeks in a swag my back started to hate me.

Those trips are great to do i usely do one every couple of years. Awesome photography of the birds.

I haven't done one in a few years. Definitely time to get out there again. :)

Go for it mate :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-23T14:24:27
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 325.15/400.00
Total Photos: 34
Total comments: 15
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.18 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mazzle
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=lc5apiyv


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29