Dazzling Amsterdam : The Old Church

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hello there fellow-steemians! And welcome to the fifth post on Dazzling Amsterdam. This one is about the oldest still-standing building in Amsterdam : The Old Church (or Oude Kerk in Dutch).
The Old Church is situated in the Red Light District (on which I did a post earlier: https://steemit.com/travel/@marcovanhassel/dazzling-amsterdam-the-red-light-district)
In the 13th century a small wooden chapel was built next to a burialground. During the 13th and 14th century, as Amsterdam began to grow, the church was rebuilt in stone and took the form it still holds today. In the 15th and 16th century the Old Church was broadened and heightened.
20170626_123045.jpg


The interior of the church is marvelous, especially the wooden ceilings:
20150830_132507.jpg

20150830_133840.jpg


In 2015 an artist named Taturo Atzu transformed the rooftop of the church for an expostition. Since this gave people a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to actually stand on the roof of this monument and get a unique view of the city below, II decided to invite my dad to come see it with me. My dad is born and raised in Amsterdam and still lives here, like myself. After 156 steps up a wobbly scaffolding, this is what we were treated to:
20150830_145642.jpg

20150830_145731.jpg

20150830_145927.jpg

20150830_150407.jpg

20150830_150012.jpg
☝️That's my dad right there, enjoying the view.


If you're visiting Amsterdam and are in the Red Light Districht anyway, I can recommend a visit to the Old Church. You can climb the 70-meter high tower and get a nice view of the city and/or see the spenderously preserved interior. It's opened to the public 364 days a year.

Peace and Love!

Sort:  

I love your post. Nice inside information about one of the greatest cities in the world! Love the pictures!

Thanks Bart. Glad you enjoyed it😁

@marcovanhassel it's really great post thanks for sharing with us!!

Glad you like it😁

#NL Mooie post kerel!

Dank je😶👍.

Some churches just look stunning!

Wow what a ancient building and nice city too. Looking forward to coming around one day (probably to see you @marcovanhassel)

Cool! We'll have to visit a featival when you come over😉

I love that too, let's watch how things unfold

If the legalized weed and epic culture weren't enough of a reason to visit Amsterdam, I now have this generous Steemian to drop in on when I finally get to one of my "bucket list" cities.

@marcovanhassel just sent me STEEM for "making him laugh". What a legend!

Thanks mate,

Fish

Potato! (you won the joke contest)

Oh okay. Still generous. And still fun!

No worries mate, fair dinkum😉

When I was there, the thing that amazed me was the huuuuge amount of just empty space there. Makes you realize how big it actually is

True. It brings a certain kind of serenity, like it should. It is a church after all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65897.19
ETH 2706.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88