Apo Island -One of the Top Dive Sites in the worldsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

 

I learned from this post by the National Museum that today is World Ocean's day!

Happy World Ocean's Day!


Early last month I went on this trip alone back to my hometown where an old friend and I planned to dive together. Up until the day of my flight I wasn't sure I could do it, take a trip alone, without the kids and husband. Seemed like a selfish thing to do but it was like a homecoming trip for a bunch of my high school friends so there was zero chance of changing my mind at the last minute.

Liquid Dumaguete Dive Resort was kind enough to accomodate our request to dive together in beautiful Apo Island. 

Apo Island is well- known for being among the top 10 best diving sites in the world.


It would be my second time to dive but since I am not a certified PADI diver, I could only do another Discover Scuba Diving course.

First we completed a classroom session with a quick learning check. Then we headed for a 1.5 hour pool training where I was re-introduced to the scuba equipment, and did a few exercises with the gear. 

The next day, we started the day off with some snorkelling at the Sanctuary where a turtle swam at me and surprised me while I was snorkelling alone (bonus! I got it on video, scroll to the bottom to view).

 After the Sanctuary, we started our way to the other side of the island with Baluarte (Boluarte in the map below) as our last stop.

ROCK POINT WEST – OW

beginner – maximum depth 20mts

A steep slope that starts in 5mts and tapers out at 20mts. The shallower part of the dive site is covered in healthy soft corals and the deeper sections in large hard corals and sponges. Depending on the current it can be dived in two different directions.

The soft corals are home to a wide variety of macro life including frog fish nudibranchs and flatworms. Large schools of trevally, snapper, and groupers are often seen swimming along the wall and Hawksbill Turtles are a regular visitor. If you are lucky you may also see a manta ray or devil ray off in the blue.

Ready to dive the wall at Rock Point West

When time came for me to jump off the boat I was so nervous and I almost felt like I couldn't do it. So I told the assistant helping me stand up straight with the heavy gear, 

I can't do it, push me. 

Then he said he had no choice I would fall backwards if he didn't. 

Thanks Kuya.

How jumping off the boat with a heavy tank felt like. I thought I would sink into oblivion. Image Source

Hanging out at the bottom

That's me at the left side of the photo above, trying my best not to have a panic attack, swimming with the guidance of Liquid's Dive Master, Ben. We were 12 meters under on a sloping reef and I just kept telling myself the whole time, Just keep breathing,in, out,inhale, exhale. 

It was a shame I couldn't bring a camera while diving due to my non-certified diver status but it was also a plus because I was able to focus more on what hand signals to remember and you know, concentrating on not freaking out. The colors of the corals somewhat relaxed me after a while; we saw yellow, lavender, ones that had little moss things swaying with the water.

The most amazing creatures we saw were these giant turtles or Pawikan.


One of them was resting in the bottom of the corals where the water was cold and there were one or two fishes feeding on its back. It was almost as big as a person, I think as big as me (4-5 feet). Two more were swimming a few feet above us but we were careful not to disturb any of these beautiful creatures.

Aside from seeing big fishes (as big as my face) and colorful box fishes, we saw a few blue starfishes hidden in the ocean floor or in between the corals. Truth be told I was thinking the whole time, will I remember what I saw here? I don't even know what these fishes are called. 

Still, it was a truly breathtaking experience.


Eons better than my first try at scuba diving.

My friends who were already PADI certified Open Water Divers took these stunning photos. Thanks girls for letting me share them here and more thanks for letting me dive with you. I look forward to future dives together!

BALUARTE – OW

beginner – maximum depth 20mts

A stunning dive site that is continuously shrouded in bubbles, created by the volcanic activity under the island. The site itself has a small wall covered in stunning soft corals, that gently tapers into a black sand slope with a spattering of coral bommies, that hide a variety of marine life.

At  last stop the Go Pro I had maxed out its available memory so all I had was this photo I took while swimming to the others who were snorkelling at the shallow area with the geothermal bubbles. There were some colorful nudibranch and we saw another turtle (last photo below).

I was amazed my 8 year old Panasonic Lumix TS1 is still working! Here are the photos I took with it while snorkelling at the Sanctuary.

MARINE SANCTUARY – OW

beginner – maximum depth 25mts

One of the first official marine sanctuaries in the Philippines, this is an enforced no fishing zone and a maximum of 15 people are permitted to dive here daily. The site is formed by a sloping reef covered in amazing variety of hard corals, soft corals and sponges. The sanctuary is famous for the sheer diversity of corals that create a collage of colors that will leave the most experienced diver amazed.

Can you find the turtle?

Watch the video and wait for the turtle that swam right into the camera and surprised me while I was snorkeling! It wanted a selfie.

Follow this blog on facebook for regular updates!

Hit me up in the comments if you're also interested in getting PADI Open Water Certification, I'm looking to form a group to dive with in December. 😉

References :
http://www.choosephilippines.com/go/islands-and-beaches/2569/apo-island-marine-sanctuary/
https://www.liquiddumaguete.com/

Sort:  

Great pictures. Have fun on future dives and travels and protect our beautiIful ocean.

I recently got into diving myself and did the Openwater and Advanced cours on Koh Tao in Thailand. I can definitly reccomend diving and learning to dive there I had a blast. And I was even able to dive with some whalesharks one of the best experience of my life. And now my next dive can´t come soon enough.

If you ever decide to dive in the ph tell me! I want to get certification if I find someone to do it with.

I will do that.
There are places around the wrold where a lot of travelers do their divecourse. You can just sign up alone and then you will probably meet some new people who do it with you. Great way to make new friends aswell.

Thanks for the tip.I 'll see if its possible locally.

I´m certain there are places like that in the Philippines. I have never been there though.
I did mine on Koh Tao in Thailand which is basically a small island filled with backpackers and diveshops.

I can check with liquid dive resort to confirm. I wonder doing it in Thailand would cost more factoring out the airfare and accommodation .lots of researching to do!

Very interesting and beautiful post . There is a whole new to me underwater world ,

It is a completely stunning world down there. :)

@luvabi, with all the years I've known you, I'm still amazed at HOW YOU ARE ABLE TO DO ALL THESE THINGS!!!
Glad you enjoyed your 'me' time. It is ok to be your own person too from time to time, not a mom, not a wife, just abi =^_^=

Haha thanks I try.
I wanted to bring hubby but he said he would faint ON THE BOAT. I had some mom guilt while packing but eventually got over it and made sure I had them on nanny cam the whole time.
They thought I was at work for 4 days. 😂

Nanny cam does make all the difference doesn't it. And 'being away for work' doesn't get old lol

Thanks for resteeming :)

Always a pleasure Abi!

Awesome post! As a fellow diver, I am looking forward to seeing many more places! At the same time, it's so sad that more and more corals are dying because of us destroying our oceans. I still hope there's many more places for me to see! Thanks!

Woah a reply already!
Are you a certified diver? Yes this place is one of the first marine sanctuaries in the world. That's why the turtles and some whale sharks like it there. I hope there are more places like it.

Yes, I have done my SSI Open Water in 2014 on Koh Tao, Thailand. After not diving for two years I went to Maldives last December and continued with my PADI Advanced Open Water. It's absolutely amazing. I can never get enough of it. Too bad it's quite expensive - but all the people I have met are so cool and it's just so much fun to go diving with the divemasters/diveguides. So, I can just encourage you to do your Open water!

I know it is quite pricey so there is some difficulty to finding someone to get the certification with. Hope I get to do it this year 😉

Followed. Thanks for the read 😉

Wow... these underwater experience are awesome. Beautiful places you visited here. I enjoyed seeing those spectacular photos. Upvoted and followed you. Looking forward to see more of your posts.

Thanks,appreciate your kind words 🤗
You're already on my feed 😉

Thank you too... I appreciate your follow. Looking forward to interact and see more of your posts here.

same here!

Truly an awesome adventure you have experienced thank you for sharing this amazing experience to the community. Keep It Up. :)

Thanks so much for reading! Upvoted and followed you!

Wow, looks like an awesome place and journey :) Learning diving is one of the things I really want to do. There is so much to discover in the place that is the origin of life on earth :) Thanks for sharing ;) Followed :)

It used to be on my bucket list and glad I have checked that box because it was a great experience. I don't know if I will ever move on from a Discover Scuba course though.
Thanks for reading and following!

Woah this place is super. I haven't tried diving yet. Hopefully I'll get the chance to try it too. Great post. Upvoted.

Thanks! If you ever need a companion, we should get the local steemers to get together on a dive or on the beach 😉

Congratulations @luvabi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Just.... wow! nice posting! :)

thanks so much :) glad you liked it, and thanks for reposting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65557.91
ETH 2645.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86