Love's Epic Journey Through Latin America: Part 1 - Yucca is the Best Food For Vomiting, Growing, Brewing and Using Ayahuasca, Adventures On a Panama Ayahuasca Farm,

in #travel6 years ago

The 61 year old Brazilian raised Rodrigo is a 20+ year user, grower and brewer of Ayahuasca.


I was fortunate enough to spend about 6 weeks on his farm, The Oasis, located just south of Anton, near the Pacific coast and about 3 hours north of Panama City.





He and the volunteer crew at the farm learned within my first day that I am a seriously skilled cook. The farm is host to bi-weekly Ayahuasca journeys. Providing food for hungry people is my specialty so I was happy to comply when Rodrigo asked me to prepare food for the attendees to enjoy during the preceremony socializing time.

Yucca, he explains, is the best food for vomiting. If you know anything about Ayahuasca then you know that you will always vomit after drinking the brew.

Yucca has a creamy texture with a rich, smooth flavor. It does not fight with the absorption of the brew in the stomach and has a mild taste when it comes back up.






There are many ways to prepare Yucca so Rodrigo guided me through a menu and gave me directions on how to make it fluffy. He has very specific ideas about the final flavors and textures.

Because the yucca is so starchy it is important to always manage the starch through one of 2 methods:
*1 boil it first then drain off the water.
*2 cut the yucca to desired size then put in airtight plastic and freeze hard.
When it thaws the resulting moisture carries out the starch.


I learned the correct way to peel yucca and prepare in many ways.
The possibilities are comparable to a potato.
I've since really started liking this weird looking brown root vegetable.







The dishes I made with Yucca are:

  • Boiled Yucca - parboiled then the water is poured out then fresh water is added. Continue boiling until Yucca is soft. Salt and pepper then add sufficient butter. Delicious just like that.

  • Yucca soup - prepare much the same as a potato soup with Yucca that has been parboiled, rinsed then fresh water added along with seasonings and any other vegetables or meat that you want.

  • Fried Yucca - the night before cut the Yucca into French Fry sticks, put into an air tight plastic container then freeze. Fry in oil until crispy. I prepared a selection of dips for the fries including a Spicey Ketchup, Honey Mustard and Apple Cinnamon.


    Want to enjoy these yummy dishes prepared by me?


    Here's your opportunity.


    Bring Love back to the Garden of Eden

    @gardenofeden for the huge farewell festival and documentary filming. Check the Garden of Eden blogs for the details.
    I'm in Costa Rica now therefore a around trip plane ticket and $100.00 will get me there.


    My next blog is about the details of how you can participate in bringing Love to the Garden of Eden...if my devices hold up. I'm having all kinds of charger problems. Apple products do not exist in the jungle.


    ~~~~~~

    Keep Following.


    I got many more fun-believable experiences,


    and amazing photography,


    I'm serious!


    My stories are continuously unfolding as I continue my unique journey south.



    Your UpVote, Follow, Repost and Comments support me to keep the...


Sort:  

Isn't this a fun post!!! Loved hearing all the Spanish and the laughter in the video. Yucca is one of my favorite roots. I've eaten it in may ways, but the most frequent as your #1, only with olive oil in place of butter. Mmmm...having some with you now.

I love that your earning some Steem to make your trip back home! Of course you'll make it. It will be another one of your epic journeys I'm sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88