Love's Epic Hostel Reviews Through Latin America: Hospedaje Casco Viejo of Panama CitysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago

When I travel to Panama City there's no question
as to where I will stay.


I always go to the

Hospedaje Casco Viejo.







I refer to it as my home when I'm in the city.




My first time to this hostel was in 2013.







After staying there a few weeks then
returning again more than three years later
the staff remembered me and was excited to see me again.







This is the kind of thing a traveler appreciates.







The hostel is not really so pretty,







not even close to a castle


and could be cleaner but it's
vibration, location and price balances it out.


The dining room is a great social atmosphere.







Free coffee in the morning is a great opportunity to
meet other travelers and see what they're doing.


The dining room itself is composed of 4 walls but it is open air
therefore it gets fresh sunshine.


This, I really appreciate.







When you are sitting in the plastic chairs
tilt your head and look up.







This is what you see.


If you can look past the chipped paint and soiled walls
you will see that it has its own beauty,
its own story to tell the world.


A sweet vibration flows through the dining area.


~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~

I always say that a hostel is not a hostel
if there is not a kitchen available to use.


This one is kinda small but is yet another communal spot.


And, I have to say,
though,
the kitchen is kept pretty clean.

I appreciate that







This is where I first learned about the Venezuelan tortilla, Arepas.


Check out my blog about the yummy, crunchy Arepas.







The hostel consists of two floors and a rooftop.


There are dorms and many private rooms on both levels.
My personal favorite is the dorm upstairs.


So, c'mon upstairs and
I'll show you what I mean.







Up here is the public computer available for you to use.


Behind the guy at the computer is the door to dorm room #9.


br>



Dorm room #9 is my favorite for many reasons.


First of all, I love the two huge french doors that open up to the street,
bringing in lots of fresh, city air.


The balcony is host to a multitude of activities.
Today we are getting tattoos from a Colombian guy.







The big hardwood floor in the center of the room
is often alive with street artists working on their craft and...







...and street performers practicing their routines.







The computer is used for music while the clients focus on
building their stock of art to sell at the upcoming festivals and ferias.







Each bed has access to an electrical outlet and a bar to hang a cloth for privacy.







When I step out onto the balcony I observe
a charming scene.







Last year I spent New Year's with these guys.
The balcony was a great spot to watch the area light up with fireworks.







Looking either way down the street you'll see
the historical buildings simultaneously
telling their stories of
abundance and hardship.







Half a block away is the water's edge to the Pacific mouth of the famous Panama Canal.


This location, Casco Viejo but recently changed to Casco Antigua, also offers many other perks. Here are a few that I appreciate:





  • The President of Panama lives only a few blocks from the hostel.
  • Panama's Police Headquarters Is also only a few blocks away.
  • The area is attractive, historical and highly safe.
  • A bank machine is only one and a half blocks away from the hostel.
  • A MailBox store is a half block away.
  • A short walk through the historical village takes you through a beautiful park and water walkway called Cinta Costera. Here you can enjoy street food, artesanias, performers, visit with indigenous peoples and occasional festivals
  • The world famous fish market Mercado de Mariscos is only about a 15 minute walk away. Here you can buy fresh fish from the local fishermen. They also have shrimp, crab and lobster.
    Expect to try some ceviche.
  • Many nightclubs, shopping and parks within blocks.
  • A 5 minute walk to Comida Por un Dolar






    Hidden on the second floor are the stairs to the rooftop.







    Here we like to hang out, smoke and enjoy the nearby fresh sea air.







    A dorm bed during off season is $7 but most of the time it is $10


    The private rooms range from $20 - $35.




    You can book a room or bed through Booking.com

    It's located halfway down Calle 8a Oeste
    between Avenida A and Avenida Demetrio Brid
    across the street from the Catholic Church Capilla San Jose


    A great SECRET to know is tell your taxi driver
    that you're going to San Felipe instead of Casco Viejo.
    This will make your taxi about 30% cheaper.


    When you arrive at the hostel
    tell them Love sent you.







    ~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-


    Keep Following.


    I got many more fun-believable experiences,


    and amazing photography,


    I'm serious!


    My stories are continuously unfolding as
    I continue my unique journey south.



    Your UpVote, Follow, Repost and Comments support me to keep the...







Sort:  

Hope to get there one day! ;)

Don't hope. Just do it!

Steem On!

Esta interesante el post...

XAvier steemit 2.jpg

Gracias. Me gustaría.

Te invito para que veas mi ultimo post, pueda que te guste.... Saludos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15