City Travel #9 | Grand Palace of Bangkok

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Here is where all the tourist of Bangkok are, really, this place if not even full, it's overflowing. Jokes a part I think It could be much more, because there is somewhat 1/3 of people who cannot enter because they do not have the right clothes.

DSC_4065.jpg

You don't need to have monk clothes, far from it, you just have to respect the general rules of entering a temple, that is not wearing shorts nor bath clothes of course. Some rules are only applied to women, that's a thing to have in consideration. Some people have no idea of these demands and even if they have they forget that and end up stopped at the door. My father was stopped, so I went alone visit the temple.

DSC_4067.jpg

This is where the people are stopped, there are some shops where you can buy adequate clothes, but they are expensive. The Thai people are smart hahahah.

DSC_4069.jpg

By entering the big door there is a wide open space where everybody is waiting for something or just chilling out, it's like a big hall before entering the right place, I can't even describe how much people I saw, how many tourist groups with flags so that they don't lose anybody in the crowd.

DSC_4071.jpg

DSC_4072.jpg

Once inside you need to buy a ticket if you don't have one already. I bought one that cost 500 Baht, that's 15.67 dollars. I know it's really expensive, especially in Thailand, but after I realized I had bought one ticket for another temple, the woman that sold me that rip me off. 🤣 So I calculated, by the amount of people in there in one day, this Grand Palace makes millions in one year.

Now after entering the temple you see only more and more people, but now I will show you just beautiful pictures just for making you want to go there and suffer the same as me, hahaha just kidding.

DSC_4074.jpg

DSC_4080.jpg

DSC_4083.jpg

DSC_4085.jpg

DSC_4089.jpg

DSC_4106.jpg

This is the main temple, sorry but I can't show you photos of the inside, it is strictly frostbitten. But I assure you, it's very beautiful.

DSC_4084.jpg

DSC_4114.jpg

I love the roofs of this place, they are always surprisingly well cared and with nice colors. All the Grand Palace was under renovation but it didn't stopped me of taking nice photos.

DSC_4124.jpg

DSC_4110.jpg

DSC_4116.jpg

DSC_4123.jpg

DSC_4131.jpg

This is a mini temple that I found, It is really nice, I tough it was a miniature to film some movie, now I want to have one in my house.

DSC_4091.jpg

DSC_4093.jpg

Visiting this temple made me realize how much detail the walls and almost every inch of everything have immense detail to it, and incense of course.

DSC_4099.jpg

DSC_4115.jpg

This is my last post about Thailand guys, I hope you've enjoyed it as much as I. But don't be afraid my young padawan, I will continue my travels in the UK, see you there and may the force be with you.

!steemitworldmap 13.750030 lat 100.491288 long d3scr

May the force be with you.jpg

Thank you for reading to the end, if you like this post, be sure to follow me for more. If you find this content relevant leave a upvote and resteem-it, it would be of great help.

Follow me on Instagram, Twitter and see some advanced photos of the upcoming posts.

See my other post about Bangkok :
City Travel #8 | Wat Pho Temple - Bangkok

signature-fonts

Sort:  

Cool post... something I keep forgetting to do is to go into the Catholic cathedrals when I'm in the bigger cities in Mexico. You're right though... it's crazy how much work goes into the little details.

Why can't we try to put at least half as much attention to little details like that?

I tink now the time have have changed, if you see the new buildings of our era they are all flat and gray, details don't count anymore. Sure there is detail in other things made by other people but now modern art is like toilet paper and shit. I think in the past we had a better taste, I like cathedrals too, I feel the same thing in temples and cathedrals, there is this prevailing peace and beauty.

Too much is mass-produced these days, but it does make things more affordable I guess.

What a wonderful post.
I like this
It is special.
Thanks for sharing!

Thank you my king, glad you like it!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=loic.ronsse
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=city-travel-8-or-grand-palace-of-bangkok


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87