What is the longest train journey you've ever done?

in #travel6 years ago

So I recently did a 50 hour journey from one part of India to the other and it got me thinking (since I had a LOT of time on my hand), what is the longest journey people on steemit have done in their lifetime.


IMG_20180219_111619-01.jpeg

I used to enjoy train journeys a lot but recently I've started to avoid it for the time it takes. The 50-hour journey that I did can be completed in just 2 hours by flight which leaves me with 48 hours of time wasted in traveling from one place to the other. I'm also 6'1'' which isn't a suitable size for train travel as seats are quite small and for a two-day journey that isn't an ideal situation to be in.

I initially posted this question on Reddit and I got an overwhelming response which motivated me to post this question here, for a more diverse user base. Feel free to share your experience with me. Thanks in advance!

Sort:  

Mine was 18 hours from lagos to minna in nigeria . it was a day ill never forget. That trip was very stressfull

I can feel your pain. 50 hours is just too much. I won't wish this upon my worst enemy.

50 hours, wow, you have me beat! Recently went from Emeryville, CA (near San Francisco) to Denver, CO in 28 hours:
IMG_3557.JPG

IMG_3580.JPG

IMG_3613.JPG

Wow. That is one beautiful train you've got there.

Thanks! I agree that really long train rides can cut into precious travel time, but sometimes they show you a unique part of the country you may not have seen otherwise.

WOW. That is craaazy! I did a 23-hour bus ride. But 50! You should win an award or something :D You must have done a lot of soul-searching during your time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86