Protest in Austin, Texas

in #travel5 years ago

Austin has always been the hub for political demonstrations. Being the Capital of Texas, Austin is the focal point for groups that want to get in front of lawmakers. Not all of these gatherings are peaceful however and there have been many that have resulted in violence. Whenever I hear about a demonstration that has the potential to bring out a lot of people and that might be very contentious, I grab my camera and head down to the state capitol to collect the passion that is sure to come out.

I find the emotional energy fascinating to watch and record. Generally, people that come to these types of events are less guarded and highly charged. Most have a definite opinion on who is right and who is wrong. Rarely do they fall in the middle.

The city itself always assumes the worst and over prepares but I guess the alternative would be to jeopardize the safety of the community.

Considering the type of action groups that come to the State Capital, I am always amazed that they are as peaceful as they are even though violence pops up throughout.

There have also been rallies that have been very peaceful and people came to make a point and to bring awareness for a specific cause.

Because of its diversity, acceptance, and tolerance, Austin is a wonderful place to live. There is so much life and passion that is expressed in so many ways. In Texas, there is nowhere else I would call home.

If you enjoy my content please help support my ongoing efforts by always resteeming.
Don't forget to look through my other content - https://steemit.com/@liquidtravel

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34