The Old Dog: Stares Into The Eyes Of a 5,000 Year Old Man!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/kus-knee-the-old-dog-stairs-into-the-eyes-of-a-5000-year-old-manr9vjjvhb-1535216724776.png

Today we went to see the Ötzi Ice-Man exhibit.

His mummified remains, together with many tools and clothing items were found on the Austrian Italian border in 1991.

The find took the archaeological world by storm and has been the focus of intense forensic study since that time. Much of what was previously believed about that period has had to be altered because of what has been learned from this find.

The exhibit is housed in a museum in Bolzano Italy which is dedicated entirely to this Ötzi.

It was extremely interesting to examine and learn about the tools and life of this man and the fact that he was murdered makes his case one of the oldest mysteries ever.

I say goodbye after another short post due to almost non existent internet!

Until next time,

@kus-knee
(The Old Dog)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Thnaks @kus-knee for posting about this,, below some more info about this,,
What if Ötzi was being chased for committing an awful deed within his tribe? Maybe he wasn't the "cool guy", or hero he's being made out to be. If several people were hunting him down, maybe he was on the run from "the law". Or maybe he was wrongly accused, and framed for something he didn't do! Regardless, he's become an amazingly interesting specimen, but I'm not on board to praise him, or put forth any benevolent morals on the guy, merely because he died in a fight and was preserved for 5,300 years. Nor do I think he's cool for having to fight for his survival. Maybe TestTube plus should examine why American culture praises violence.
Evenmore, possibly study why the compound word badass is so popular and means a positive thing; as if its something to strive for. I've wondered that after I had used it in conversation, and a friend had simply asked why I thought being a "badass" was such a good thing. I realized that it only perpetuates the notion that being gritty, tough, , and somewhat aggressive, yet holding some judeo-christian moral code is cool. I've held back ever since.
Then, maybe go on to do an episode analysing why our culture is so lax on violence in cinema, but shuns sex and the nude human body - yet sexual allusions plague advertising. Either way, thanks Ötzi for initiating this comment!

So true. There was a sports announcer that used to call a good play: sick, wicked and nasty!

Good comment and longer than my article! :)

He doesn't look a day over 29 (hundred years)!

@kus-knee,
You make us curious by your journey! Wish to see more and I hope you have a lot of great experiences to share! Enjoy!

Cheers~

Thanks so much!

I've never really seen pics of him. Really kool to actually see what he looked like. From my perspective he's rather small in stature.... shorter and def. not over fed like most people I encounter today. His biceps seem large but lean also and his hands seem to be a bit larger than they should be but who am I to know anything about the peoples of this time period. I do know this though, to have been someone living off the land and making everything out of what you found or caught to sustain ones self you had to be on top of your game each and every day to survive. Don't think so....go camping with the clothes on your back and a knife for the weekend. Enjoyed the post and thanks for the show!

He was 1.60 meters tall so not very big and it's true that his arm looks too long and his hands too big. They've been studding this guy intensely since 1991 and it's amazing what them learned. What he ate, what his last meal was, what sicknesses he had, how long after he was shot he died etc...

really it is a very mysterious ötzi ice man.i am first time seen this types ancicnt people.its obviously great history.this people looks very quite and peacefull.i hope that,when he is alive? but where you found this people.always sharing very good tropic history in your post.have a great day.wish you enjoy your travel weekened such a wonderfull place.nice to meet you.see u again.best of luck..my dear friend.. @kus- knee

Good Gawd I hope I look that good at 5000!!

Get yourself frozen in a block of ice and you’ve got a shot!

I know about this man, but I didn't know that was murdered.
It is a really intriguing story, I'm curious how they understand that and how was murdered, I have to dig about It.
Your new articles are shorts and direct!😃
Are you testing Partiko App!?
I find It really well done!😉
Have a good continuation of holydays!😀

Thanks so much. I'm using Partiko while on this trip because it seems to be the only one that works with my slow internet. Does it only allow one photo? Also I can't understand how to edit a post once it's uploaded.

Screenshot_20180826-131125.jpg

A screenshot to show you better!😃

Glad to be helpful, If you need something...just ask!😉✌️

Posted using Partiko Android

You're really welcome!
You're right, It works really well even with slow connection.
I checked now about pictures, it seems to allow just to upload one each post.
To edit a post you have to click the pen symbol on the top right of your post preview.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll tell you the truth about Ötzi. His real name was "George Finkelstone" and he was send back from the future. In the future we'll have another law system. People who committed a serious crime will be send back in time and the more serious the crime was the far more they'll be send back in time.  Mr. Finkelstone was spoken guilty for insurance fraud and the punishment for this is stone-age. He got the proper equipment for that time and surprise - he didn't made it. But at least someone found him. ^^

Thanks @kus-knee for sharing this blog

Love lots @a-0-abul

Thanks fo letting me know the truth!

I have internet difficulties to when I go and visit my mother in Iowa. Indeed it would be fascinating to see the mummified remains of that person and their culture. More beneficial is what we can learn from them. Thanks so much for sharing. @kus-knee. Enjoy your travels.

It is good to see what we can learn from them!

That guy you've got pictured there is very cool looking, and also pretty creepy looking. I homeschool my son who is early elementary age. We just started history, and taking it very slow, lingering over whatever we like, because at this age history isn't usually taught anyway, so there's no pressure. Currently in prehistory and I am relearning with my son so much. We are just getting into the rise of mammals. Id love to take him to this museum. Ancient man is much more interesting than the little blip above cave paintings that was covered in school when I was a kid.

Happy travels. I think you do all the things on your trips that I would too.

I'm sure that you do a great job with your son. If you stay curious he'll benefit too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83