Freewrite in Scranton!

in #travel6 years ago

Good evening, Steemit! I’m sitting here at Adezzo coffee shop in Northeastern, Pennsylvania. I’ve posted from here before, as has @vermillionfox. I’ve had memorable family drawing sessions with her, @guthrie, @bonni and my stepdad. I even shot a blockchain interview with @bryan-imhoff at these very tables just last year. I was planning on editing for the next few hours and just realized I foolishly left my Wacom USB cable at my parents’ house. I’m so used to making distinct Steemit posts with a clear beginning, middle and end, usually summarizing a shoot or drawing. Rather than close up my laptop and go home, I decided I’ll do @anomadsoul free write. I’ve been reading his posts while on the road in Russia during the World Cup, and I, myself, am currently on the road. It seems like an appropriate time to get the things in my head out in to the Steemit world.

Ironically, I’m on this trip […and the next coming up for me, @vermillionfox and @guthrie going to Los Angeles and Las Vegas in less than two weeks] is a result of the cryptocurrency market falling on it’s ass. I’ve increasingly worked crypto more and more in to my career. It’s been a seamless fit as a content producer and the introduction of a revolutionary platform like Steemit that rewards authors for original work. I haven’t been here as long as some, but I’ve seen and experienced some crazy shit. My introduction post made over $1,600. During lateralized rewards after HF19, single posts could make $400 - $500 in STEEM rewards! More recently, the SBD’s anomaly. My participation in Steemit as an author has never been contingent on the money I make, but when STEEM is up and rewards are bountiful, it’s hard to not subconsciously weave that in to your current spending and future plans.

I had every intention of transitioning in to comics full time by now. I remember thinking that I just needed to survive Viva Las Vegas. I had over 30 shoots in 2 weeks and I made it through that pinup crucible on that promise that “….as soon as your home, you’ll be able to focus on the comic.” Almost to the day that I planned on transferring a significant stake of my crypto in to fiat, I began watching these massive tumbles of value across the board. I’m not a panic seller. The tokens I hold are few, but I have an unshakable belief in them as long term projects. Eventually, the correction, bear trap or whatever you want to call it, hit what @bryan-imhoff calls the “pain threshold”. It was the number that I was lo longer willing to consider selling or trading as a means to pay the bills. Any bills. It was the acceptance that I wasn’t going to be going in to comic book retirement this year.

With that sobering reality, I put on my big boy pants and booked two trips, back to back. Pennsylvania and New York City, until the end of July, and Los Angeles and Las Vegas until mid-August. What of the pain points of traveling as a freelance artist is being away from my family. My parents and grandfather live in Pennsylvania, so it was assumed that @vermillionfox and @guthrie would be coming with me to the east coast. A client that I was suppose to shoot in LA in September called me frantically, begging to move our product shoot up till August. It was a scary prospect to consider another two week trip immediately after running all over the east coast, but it occurred to me that I “could” bring @guthrie and @vermillionfox along this trip, as well. He doesn’t start school until mid-August and although sooner than I planned, we could take a family vacation […I’d be working a lot, but at least we’d all be together] without missing any classes.

And that’s what we decided to do. We’re only on the first leg of this trip. @guthrie and @bonni can’t get enough of each other. @bonni is giving him nonstop, undivided attention and he’s happy to accept all of it. Tomorrow, @vermillionfox and I leave for NYC. We’ll be there for about five days. We “should” have time to actually enjoy ourselves with small breaks between sessions and one entire day off. Hopefully we’ll find some cool comic and games stores, and at the very least, Korean barbecue. I’ll be posting some behind the scenes and more free write sessions [hopefully] before returning to Pennsylvania, then making the 17 hour drive back to Minnesota at the end of this month.

Thanks for reading if you made it to then end. It’s been therapeutic to have a platform to share thoughts and feelings with no expectations. I’ll try and do these more often. I’m quickly approaching 5,000 followers. Thank you all for the support and interest in what I do. For more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt.

Sort:  

If comics are your passion, then surely you will fit a series in your life time. Maybe start small... Like start with the filler first. Maybe do a 5 page story ark a month for a while until crypto actually goes up again. I have been doing panels here and there and it really all ads up eventually. 10% or 5 %even of comic work per day makes a big difference over time. If you start it keep going with it even just a little each week. Because the love for your stories can be fickle, and your heart will move on from the comic project, if you don't make the little trickle of time for it. This is coming from a cronic procrastinator who still manages to do a 20 pg comic most years, even with life going on.

Just gotta find the love for the story. If you lust after the story, the work becomes easy. Infact hard to put down and life becomes the distraction from it.

You will find your groove. I know it's hard.

Aww it's sad when creatives have to postpone their dreams because of circumstances. I agree with @artwatch, build up your making comics experience and storytelling. I've seen your art and it's incredible ^^ Maybe try freewrites, brainstorming story ideas? Make your passion part of your work even in small ways :D
Good luck and have a safe trip.
Thank you very much for supporting my freewrite post, it was a big pleasant surprise!

You write very nicely, the words just flow through easily. I hope crypto will pick up again because I want to see that comic made.

I was speaking with @bryan-imhoff about trying to get together...rather he was speaking with me about it. Lol. If you guys head down to the Jersey Shore at all this weekend I’ll be here! It’s about an hour and fifteen mins from the city. Come to the beautiful beach & check out my kick ass comic shop Conquest Comics!! My house is your house, @kommienezuspadt if you need a place to crash! Plenty of room!! Would love to meet some fellow Steemians! Bryan and I have been discussing getting his ass out to the shop one day anyway!!!

I think it's hard for me to write what I think, your writing speaks freely @kommienezuspadt.
The "threshold of pain" I think that @bryan-imhoff is right, One always plans what he wants to do in the future unless you only live the day without any concern which is impossible when you have people who depend on you, but when they are low prices many things change and our plans are completely lost.
So many trips scheduled! but at least you will have @guthrie and @vermillionfox and you can be with them the time you have free and you will not miss those moments with them and those trips will not be as usual.
Time flies! It was recently New Year and we are already in July all those trips will be finished soon.
I hope just like the others, raise the price of the market in all these months that are missing and you can do your retirement and do what you like, which are the comics.!
wow are many followers, congratulations!

May your posts hit the $1000 mark again soon! Steem helped fund my surgery, no other social platform would have done that! Alls possible here.
I can’t wait for you to transition 100% to comics! Live your dream friend, I promise to always be cheering you on!

WHAT?

THE ELECTRIC CITY

Many trips await you yet and even if you can not start full time with the comics, you have something better than spending time with your family which is much more valuable than all others, will be trips in which you will have to work hard with the orders of the Customers but all will be worth worth, plus get to 5k followers is a great achievement, you're doing an amazing job and that's admirable!

@kommienezuspadt Many successes in your plans and that all are done with good, just do not forget steemit is very entertaining to read. Although now I pay a lot of attention to your post.

Great to know that you are artist and i can say that people who are engaged in any type of art work, their life will be colourful but at the same time it will be Super Dynamic too because creativity is really dynamic and when we include creativity in our life then it becomes dynamic life.

But great thing is, you want to give time to your family and accordingly making the planning and in my opinion that's really great thing and i can say that it's really adorable to read that for sure. And i hope that you'll going to have great time for sure.

And good to know about the initial days payout of Steem and for sure it's awesome thing, and if we would join at that time then we would make count for sure but nonetheless whatever happens is the best for us.

And in my opinion now the competition levels are raised up in Steem Economy for sure and more and more users are redirected towards Steem and in my opinion it's an great and healthy sign in aspect of future because if prices of Steem increases then inturn stake holders going to face the great results.

And great to see that your life is so busy but you manage to communicate and share your stories on this platform and in my opinion effective engagement always brings the effective results and i hope that your future path will give you more success and more rewards.

So, good luck for your work, and i hope and wish that you'll going to have great time.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77