I travel the world #271 : Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum

in #travel7 years ago

 

Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum

To understand Cambodian History you have to visit the Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum. The site was a Highschool but used as S-21 Prison where at least 20.000 prisoners were tortured and killed. The Khmer Rouge opened at least 150 of these camps over Cambodia. 9 prisoners were shacked together and they were not allowed to sleep, got almost nothing to eat and had to confess. After their false confession they were killed. Out of 20000 prisoners only 7 have survived...

Entrance

We had a drink before going into this place at a bar nearby

The school rooms were reconfigured into small cells for up to 1500 prisoners 

Prisoners were hang here upside down until they were unconscious and re-animated with water to be tortured again

I recommend everybody to visit this prison

Many people are against America intervening in every war or civil war in the world. After seeing this brutality and nonsense killing at S-21, I was reminded again that we (not only America) every country every person has to help others whom are helpless and getting slaughtered. Syria, Turkey or Africa comes to my mind. I feel that we are all responsible to help prevent Genocide happening again and again, even in 2017 there is many places where people are tortured to death. 

Have you been to a Genocide Museum ???

 I am blogging about the following topics :

ABOUT ME: Some insides into my Steemit life  

Sort:  

Yes! I was at Auschwitz last month to answer your question ;)
BTW I was thinking of you today drawing up my dream flight list for 2017:

High on the list are:

-Anchorage-Honolulu
-Frankfurt-Baku (across the Carpathians)
-Delhi-Shanghai (across the Himalayas)

If you know of any other beautiful flight journeys please do let me know?
Danke @knozaki2015! Steem on!

hi. ah you have been to Auschwitz. yeah human cruelty is the same anywhere.
I never thought of flight routes for the beautiy but I will think about it

Correct on the first statement. Every country was a killing field at some stage of history. I do look forward to any flights you can think of!? :) Steem on @knozaki2015!

Some serious weather events going on there @knozaki2015! The electrical storm cloud is amazing! Time to get my flying boots back on again soon. Danke :)

Whenever I hear the words "Genocide" the emotion of intense sadness comes over me. The stories are always heart ripping. Thank you for sharing.

it was really heartbreaking to see the pictures and stories of the prisoners

indeed, I felt really sad after this visit. it is sad to see how cruel humans can be

Hello my friend ... how are you .. beautiful this place

it was a prison. pleease use google tranlate and read it again

Is he currently jailed ???
I do not think so .. know that it was in the past
But now what did you see when I went to this place ??

no it is a museum. but you will see a lot p ictures of people , and dead people etc. it is very sad

Interesting post and beautiful pictures. Thank you for sharing!

I miss theses refreshing coconuts. They sell some in Germany but they don't even taste as good as they do there

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29