A gem in the heart of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

in #travel6 years ago

Dear Steemians, I'm cautiously stepping back into the Steemy waters after the challenges of the last few weeks. I promise to get back to the African infrastructure series shortly, but until my Kiligirl Spidey-sense tells me that all's well in Steemit world, I'll stick with nostalgia for the moment.

Thanks to @mother2chicks, @wachera and a few others reacting to my South Sudan post of late last week, I've been reminiscing in a mostly random way about some of the places I've had the privilege of visiting, and actually getting a chance to photograph as well. The visit list is long; the photo list is short!

Today's memory is of a short stay in Dar es Salaam, the largest city and former capital of Tanzania. While I've been to Tanzania and Zanzibar a few times for work now (and saying I've been to Zanzibar sounds really exotic - in reality our work took us far away from the beaten tourist track to the smaller island of Pemba to the north, rather than the better known Unguja, which a lot of people call Zanzibar), I haven't done the tourist thing in Dar other than going out to eat with colleagues...which may I say is a treat, because of the fresh fish and utterly amazing fruit. There are also some delicious local dishes inspired by Tanzania's exotic Arabian-linked past, but unfortunately I don't remember the names.

A simple church overlooking the harbour

So today's story is about a simple church which happened to be below my hotel window. I awoken my first morning at the hotel before sunrise by the sound of singing. A lot of people singing hymns. Beautifully. I can't remember clearly now, but I think it may have been a Wednesday morning.

I got up and took a not great photo out of the hotel window, which I couldn't open so you can see a few smears of window in the image.

Azania Front Lutheran Church

It was getting light, but it was still before sunrise. I was astonished to see cars pouring into the parking lot and people spilling out of the church already. Many were sitting on the lit veranda. The music wasn't too loud, but it was unexpected and charming to listen to.

What's it called?

Looking it up on the net was an easy task as it's so recognisable. It was quite easy to identify by its distinctive architecture, which it turns out is Bavarian, with the red-tiled roof and white walls. It's the Azania Front Lutheran Church. That short Wikipedia link says it was built in 1898 by German missionaries, and it serves as a cathedral for the local diocese. Spoiler alert: the link doesn't say much else.

As it got lighter, I could see people starting to leave. Watching it for one brief part of one morning couldn't tell me much about the ways and means of the church, but it gave me the impression that the parishioners went there to start their day right, sing a bit together and start with some collective worship, much as many of us would go to the gym to get going properly.

Daylight gradually dawned, the lights went off and the singing died down.

Azania Front Lutheran Church

That clock in the tower was right twice a day!

I listened for about half an hour, then it was time to meet my colleagues for breakfast and hit the day myself.


signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Great post, as always keep them coming! good to see you post again.
Africa has so much to offer, really need to make time to visit one day

Hi, @heyitshaas, great to see you too! Your only problem visiting Africa will be narrowing the destinations down so that your trip will only be for half a year - there is so much to see and do 😊😊

well thats an informative post of the day i must say btw that church looks so beautiful the way it has been photographed ! :) <3 i must say lovely captured :) and yeah continue all is well in steemit world :) <3 GOD BLESS YOU ! :)

and yeah one more thing i wish you team southafrica best of luck ! ;)

Thank you, @hassanabid! And without being too humble, let me say that the church is so pretty that nobody could take a bad photo of it. Appreciate your support! Steem on 😊😊

The view looks lovely, did you have a lot of fun and lots of new experiences when you went there?

Hi, @thegoliath, I have to say that trip wasn't as enjoyable as previous trips to Dar - not because of Dar but because I found it challenging to work with the people I was with and to get alignment on our approach to the business we were trying to develop. That didn't stop me from enjoying Dar for the few days we were there.

On a previous trip in 1998 or so, I had a fantastic time with our local representative. This fellow knew all the genuine local night spots and took me to a ratty little private club where it turned out all the lawyers who were handling Rwandan genocide cases hung out in the evenings. I met some amazing soul that evening. After another visit in the mid 2000s I impulsively decided to extend my stay as a birthday present to myself, and got a PADI dive certificate. THAT was proper tourism.

Well you still enjoyed yourself each time you were there and didn't let others affect that enjoyment. Being able to enjoy your holiday despite annoyances etc always makes it worthwhile.

Thanks, @thegoliath. I was working each time I was there 🙃

Nice photos, what a beautiful architecture @kiligirl?

What is causing the double posting... I saw someone else post 4 times!

Goodness! I nearly had a heart attack when I realised I'd posted twice successfully - I must have hit the post button at least four times just in Opera, not to mention the one or two times in Chrome. This shouldn't be possible.

Very interesting, good post and I like, hopefully the next post better with a more perfect idea. follow me @pojan, Upvote and give a positive comment for me.

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@pojan/airport-and-important-thinks-about-the-airport-20171030t204222855z

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83