You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Volcanic Dreams: Survival

in #travel7 years ago

Wow fantastic journey ! Reminds me when I hiked to the top of a volcano here in New Zealand in the Tongariro National Park. It is one of the most active in the world and when I was on the top, I felt the ground moving and cracking so we ran to get back to our camp lol. Fortunately it was nothing, just to scared us =D

Sort:  

I did the Tongariro crossing in Dec '16. It's amazing how unprepared most people are. But, unless conditions turn to crap, then any average human can make that walk on a few sips of water and much willpower. Still, my party of two ended up giving about more than a third of our water and some emergency supplies to others. The rumbles are a fun part of the experience.

any average human can make that walk on a few sips of water and much willpower.

I can imagine the rumbles!

I took plenty of food to avoid the rumbles. The grumbles and the stumbles are just part of the experience. Though add in the mumbles and those are the classic signs of hypothermia: The stumbles, the grumbles and the mumbles.

Haha glad you know about it !
Did you climb up the Mt Ngauruhoe ? =D

Did you try Ngaruhoe or the Tongariro summit?
I did not. I am much too fat and unfit to attempt it. Besides which, the tops were covered in cloud the day I went so extremely risky. Ngaruhoe is a scree slope so the risk of dislodged rocks coming down through whiteout cloud cover and the risk of coming down the wrong side of Ngaruhoe and getting lost are very real. If I lost nearly half my body weight then I might attempt Ngaruhoe on a fine day with a helmet.
Mind you, on the shuttle service outwards I a met a guy who did both Ngaruhoe and Tongariro summits that day. That guy had done nine New Zealand peaks in 21 days so he was fit, knew what he was doing and able to judge the risks for himself very well.

I understand mate
I did the Ngaruhoe yes and it was very dangerous even on a clear day.
My girlfriend was really scared and we couldn't stand to go up, we had to move on our hands and feets.
The dislodged rocks coming down was terrible, I nearly got one in the face. But most of the time, the people on the top of you are yelling "ROCKS" if one start to roll over. The way down was scary too because very steep. Fortunately I followed the advice from a guy and I took the good side. I was sliding on the rocks like if I was skiing. It took me 25 minutes to go down, But 2h30 to go up lol
I will not do it again but it was a crazy experience

The one =D
A guy brought a gold ring and played the lord of the ring song when we were on the top ! So funny haha =D

That apparently happens quite often. The day I went you could see many disappointed LOTR fans when they were told that Ngaruhoe was "strongly not recommended" since the top was whiteout and there was a storm due early evening.
You could also see a lot of disappointed people at the "STOP!" sign just before the Devil's Staircase. You mean a mountain requires gear, fitness and decent weather? No... Is there a manager I can speak to?
But, better some dissappointed people than some dead ones.

Hahaha let me talk to the manager please !! =D
Indeed better to be safe and sound that finish the track with a missing eye or a missing leg haha
Nice to have a chat with you =)
What did you do in NZ ? Like hike or activities ?

Nature has some way to remind us sometimes.

Exactly =). Mother Nature is the God of God =)

True and Mother Nature is my God.

So we have the same =). Glad to cross your way

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58951.49
ETH 2505.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48