Peace at Byodo-In, Oahu

in #travel6 years ago

There is something about temples, maybe it's the architecture, maybe it's the purpose, maybe it's the prayers, maybe the people. Either way, the legitimate temples and prayerful locations I've been to have all held a type of peaceful power that is hard to notice when we only look with our eyes. We can only feel it in the more subtle layers, it's not like the typical material energy we typically talk about, it's something that reaches into the depths of us.

IMG_20180117_102246.jpg

Today I had the chance to visit the Byodo-In temple on Oahu, a replica of the larger scale temple of the same name located in Uji, Japan. Right when we walked onto the ground I could sense that peaceful power. The structure is beatiful, the grounds well kept, but there are children yelling, people hitting the gong over and over, chatting like it was a department store, buying trinkets. The respect for the space and it's purpose wasn't quite there, which I totally understand. A few years ago I wouldn't have thought much of the place, just a building with a giant Buddha statue in the middle.

But today it put me in the right mindset. I haven't had a lot of time to meditate on my trip here, and even just a few minutes of quietly sitting at the meditation pavilion was enough to clear my mind and bring great clarity. Even though I was slightly annoyed by the repetitive "gong-ing," I decided to just let it happen and listen, I let the reverbrations hit me and observed all the sounds from children yelling, people talking, and gongs "gong-ing."

After leaving I was feeling much better, less stressed from traffic, less worried about the crypto market, and more ready to meet the moment. It was a fantastic little visit and I recommend everyone to check out any nearby temples, and this one in particular if you find yourself in Oahu or Uji.

Have you found any buildings or other locations emanating peace in your life? LEt me know in the comments below.
IMG_20180117_100754.jpg

Sort:  

Great pics of your travels. It sure is beautiful country out there.

By the way, you now have the voting slider...and some additional VP

Thanks, now I don't have to skimp on my voting!

And ya, it's gorgeous here, winter in MT is beautiful but it's always nice to have some sunshine and gree.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84