#1 Mount Everest Expedition 2019 - What inspired me to climb Everest?

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Greetings everyone! Today I want to talk about an adventure I recently went on to the worlds highest point and back, how it took me 9 years to prepare for this and how I raised 50 lakh rupees to fulfill this 9 year long dream. But I am not just going to talk about my experience on the mountain. I am going to talk about how to break the barriers of your own mind, overcome all the excuses and how to climb the bigger Everest within you and once you overcome the mountain within, you can do whatever you want.

PSX_20190718_115745.jpg

Everyone asks me how did this dream of climbing Everest even come to me? From sea level to the top of the world? Why do I want to do it?

The dream of climbing Everest started 9 years ago. As a kid, I was never athletic or into any kind of sports whatsoever. In fact, I used to hate sports. In my school PT period, I used to avoid playing anything. I wasn’t good at academics either. I had no focus or clarity in my life. I was a lost child. The world around me had convinced me that good marks and excellence in academics was the only way I could succeed and survive and because I wasn’t good in my academics, my confident level went down as I started growing up, making me an introvert.

In 2010, after my board exams during the summer vacations, I was just wasting my time at home, doing nothing productive. One evening in May, my dad was seeing random news and he suddenly called me in. He told me to see the news coverage of a 16 year old boy from Noida who climbed Everest. I sat and saw the coverage and the way he was explaining his experiences, something happened to me. It caught my imagination and I thought to myself that this is another world altogether and even I want to experience this. I asked my dad, how do I experience this? He was like you can never climb Everest. It takes years of preparation and its too risky. But you should definitely do a trek in the Sahyadris someday. I told him I want to do it now.

So we signed up for a trek to Mount Kalsubai, which is the highest peak in Maharashtra. It was summer time so it was a night trek. We reached the top in the morning and I saw the most amazing sunrise from there and as a 16 year old I thought, if the sunrise from here is so beautiful, how beautiful would it be from the top of the world? This was a turning point in my life. This where I told myself, that one day I would want to climb Everest. That’s where this dream of climbing Everest was sown into my head.

FB_IMG_1537508844200.jpg

I knew nothing about what was actually required to climb Everest. I started doing treks every weekend in the Sahyadri’s and that’s when I started meeting people in the outdoor industry who knew a little bit more about mountaineering than me. That’s where I got to know that there are a few mountaineering courses in India which one can do where they teach ABCD of mountaineering. I enrolled myself for the Basic Mountaineering Course in NIM and that’s when a whole new world opened up for me. In the 28 days of training, day and night revolves around mountaineering. Lectures are held on mountaineering, in the evenings they show mountaineering films, all everyone talks about is mountaineering and mountaineers, there are pictures of mountaineering expeditions across the hostel and campus. This is where we learn a few basic snow, ice and rock skills. Few of our instructors had climbed Everest. I used to speak with them everyday about Everest and that is when I got to know specifically what is needed to climb Everest; experience wise and fitness wise.

PSX_20170912_173204.jpg

PSX_20170920_135513.jpg

In the coming few years, I climbed over a dozen peaks rising over the altitude of 6000 meters. The first peak I ever climbed was Stok Kangri peak in Ladakh which stands tall at 20,080 feet. Since then I climbed many mountains in Ladakh, Himachal, Uttarakhand, Sikkim, gaining very valuable mountaineering experience.

FB_IMG_1530365073078.jpg

FB_IMG_1530365106155.jpg

PSX_20181111_112127.jpg

In 2017 I completed my Advance Mountaineering Course in HMI in Darjeeling and this is when I decided I thought that I have been dreaming of climbing Everest since so long. Now it is time for me to realistically think about it, set a target and work towards it with full focus. I set my eyes on Everest for 2019. It was game time now. No looking back now! Game time now!

I was confident that mountaineering experience wise I have good enough background. I needed to work on Everest specific physical fitness now and more importantly the massive funds required for it.

In the next blog I will take you guys through the rigorous fitness routine I went through to prepare my mind and body for the ultimate challenge a human can achieve

Sort:  

Congratulations on finally making it to the top of Mt Everest. Now you can rest. Your father maybe discouraged you by his words, but he did well to support you and take you to your first mountain climb. Now you can enjoy the view of the highest point.

Posted using Partiko Android

really love reading about this! cant wait for your next post man!

Thank you so much. On its way!

Hi its.parth.hey,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

ehy dear @its.parth.hey great story !! I have never had such a great goal in my mind, but I think that such experiences can change a person's life. certainly the motivation must be great to persevere in the preparation, but being able to realize the dream will make us happy and proud of ourselves. knowing that you have the strength to do something so big can make us feel invincible within us. beautiful ;-)) I'll wait for your next post to see how you prepared for this challenge! a curiosity: did you also find older people (say around 50) that starting from 0 have trained to climb the everest?

Hi. Thank you so much. Yes, most people on Everest were above the age of 40. The oldest person in the world to climb Mount Everest is 83. Everything is possible!

well, then I can think about it !! I am "almost" in mid-life crisis and I need to think that I can still do many things! maybe it's a stupid thought, but sometimes it seems so tiring just doing the stairs at home .... all the best for you !! :-))

Congratulations @its.parth.hey! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations on achieving your goal. I admire your determination at such young age. You found your purpose and you worked towards your goal. It took a lot of time (to be honest I didn't know that such long preparation was required) and I believe that it brought you so much. I'm looking forward to reading about your actual experience while climbing.

Thank you for sharing and I wish you happy climbing in the future! :)

Thank you so much! It was the most life changing experience of my life.

Congratulations @its.parth.hey !
I love it when people share their own experience and I go crazy when they turn their own experience to a life lesson... Reading your first paragraph just pushed me to read the whole story!
You really explained that experience perfect...
This is a phrase I just keep repeating to myself for the last two weeks "There is no perfect time! It's just now and now!".
I felt you are saying the same thing through your post, again and again...
Thanks for sharing!
♥♥♥

Indeed. Right now is all we have if we really see it

I'm really excited to read this, and know you will do more posts about your journey. I follow the annual climbing seasons a bit, though I will never climb myself. I know 2019 was a very crowded year on Everest, and I can't wait to see your take on it.

Excellent photos and wonderful accomplishments. Few people follow through on such long term goals. This will be an awesome series :)

I climbed Everest from the North Side in Tibet. I didn't face any crowd at all luckily

Congrats Bhai, Its an achievement which makes you rank among the very few people around. May be very rare among billions. Kudos. It is a noce reading which any Indian makes happy. Few photos only but its really great too.

Thanks for sharing this..

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @lunaticpandora.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14