Is It Safe To Travel In Mexico?

in #travel7 years ago

Before I started on this trip to Mexico I was warned by friends and family that I could be in real danger. Mexico is a dangerous country, they would say. They would bring up stories the saw on the news or read on the Internet.

The drug cartels would murder or kidnap me, they said.

I can tell you that all of their concerns are completely unfounded. I have had nothing but positive experiences since arriving in Mexico. Everyone has been very polite and friendly.

I fully believe that Mexico is as safe if not safer than any other country in the world. Now, it would be the height of stupidity to ignore the very real danger that exists in Mexico. There are a lot of drug cartel-related murders happening here. However, if you are not a part of that world, the chances of falling victim to this type of violence are slim.

There are bad areas in cities that you probably want to avoid. But that is in any city. When I was living in Phoenix, there were neighborhoods that I would absolutely not go into. And that is the way it is in any country. Use your best judgment and you will be fine.

Most mainstream news outlets focus on negative stories. the ones that will scare their viewers the most. That is why they continually splash stories of murder and terrorism across your TV screen as much as possible.

My advice, turn off the TV, get your passport, and head to a country you have always been curious about. Maybe someplace like Mexico.

Sort:  

Congratulations @isoliz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks for the comment.

nice post. I want to go to Mexico, Brazil and Peru hopefully next year.

I didnt had so much concerns before but posts like yours and others take away my fear more and more till there will be none.

I hope you have a great trip. I'm really enjoying my time out here.

If you are looking for trouble you will find it and you will find it fast, but if you use a little common sense you will be fine in Tijuana.... just like any other major city in the world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59329.11
ETH 2528.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47