La rue Mouffetard: one of the oldest and picturesque streets in Paris

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I rarely let go of the reins when travelling as more often than not, I travel alone or I am more familiar with the place. But the last time my friend Ronnie and i went to Paris this October, she all handled everything. Her personal circumstances did play a role so I let her be.

All I needed to do was to make sure i will be travelling to and fro Paris on her train. Although, i had a say where she get our accomodation, we both loved our stay in Le Marais before, and both were gagging to go to that seafood restaurant near our airbnb. This seafood restaurant probably ticked the last box for us. Having said that, a particular day was set for us having dinner there. Awesome.

Easy peasy.


If i could paint a thousand words...

As i haven't been to La rue Mouffetard, she was excited to bring me there. And in her excitement, we got lost upon exiting Censier- Daubenton metro. Having been here with an ex, which exit to take probably didn't register with her that time. Didn't bother me the least.

The street we took wasn't familiar to her and imagine her surprise when we saw another street market in our search. Although a small one, she couldn't drag me fast enough! Coupled that with me eyeing some croissants and doing a photo shoot of some artichokes🤣

La Mouffe

Reminiscent of the middle ages, La Mouffe, as called by tbe locals is one of the oldest and picturesque streets in Paris, having  a daily market producing fresh products, like pastries, cheese, vegetables and fruits, including seafoods.


Eye feast galore 



In hindsight, getting lost probably made it perfect for us. For when we found it, we were standing at the end of la rue Mouffetard, looking down the slopy street far beyond towards the beginning of market streets and stalls. 

Walk slowly and enjoy the facades of the old Parisian establishments, cafes and restaurants where each place pulls you in. If looking for a place to have coffee, goodluck to that, there were too many. The main point is to which one have the best view and tarry as long.

It's like leaving the best part for last!



Living like the locals

To enjoy places, one need to live like the locals do as it's a one way to appreciate the BEAUTY of a place. It gives you that element of experiencing "what ifs", it satisfies that longing to be a local. 

Mingle with the Parisians in their normal habitat.

We went on a Sunday but accordingly, Saturdays and Sundays are the best times to visit. The market is daily though and probably, weekdays will just be full of tourists or there less people. 

You want that buzz in being with a crowd!


Deja vu?  A typical street scene in Paris.

I swear that i've seen this scene a 100th times before. And I can also guarantee that I have bought a reproduction of this in Monmarte. Am quite sure that I've bought a tiny €15 drawing for my cousin in Ohio.

From where I was standing at least.

This is the beginning of La rue Mouffetard, where the market street starts. It is a small square and to it's right is a church. Theses stalls are plain ordinary, but what made it especial are the musicians playing old Parisian music.

I don't know exactly what they were playing but the songs reminded me of Edith Piaf, or can just be a Parisian movie that played those songs.

See the crowd?



A dream come true

I was dancing along the sidewalk, not caring, when Ronnie sort of said she have their CD and dreamt of dancing along La rue Mouffetard. And what the hell was she waiting for?

Oh well, a friend gotta do what a friend ought to do! 

If she wasn't broken-hearted, I would have said to "sod off girl", the music wouldn't wait for you! Even the lady she was dancing with looked at me quizzicaly when I started taking pictures instead of dancing.

I mean, I can't dance! But in Paris, with a live music? Along La rue Mouffetard?


For you Ronnie.

We were going to Monmarte afterwards, so leaving was a bit of a drag. With some rain showers that day, an early night with some wine in our airbnb was what we were contemplating doing that evening.

I was laughing when we rounded a corner and saw the Metro. Glancing back, the corner market street can be seen in that particular exit.

I always say that to see the best of Paris, one need to get lost and be surprised!



All images are mine and original, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7. Edits with PicsArt.

http://www.thegoodlifefrance.com/rue-mouffetard-the-oldest-street-in-paris/

http://www.rue-mouffetard.com/market.html




Sort:  

Hey my friend :) so Nice to see you again among the street of Paris ! I hope you're doing good since we talk together :)

All good my friend and enjoying the crypto world. You must be pleased yourself🤣😃
Aiming to leave London and be a full steemian..fingers' crossed.
Where are you nowadays? My friend and i are contemplating to get a small and cheap place in SOF..any suggestion??

What a fantastic project, I'm sure you will do very good ! I'll support you :)
I'm currently in New Caledonia for an other 3 weeks before doing a round trip around Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia :) !

I can suggest you to look at Saint-Paul de Vence, beautiful little city close to Nice, my hometown. You have beaches, wineries, mountains and history all around. Get an airbnb rather than hotels. Cheaper and you get around with locals :)
Go to Juan-les-pins, Villefranche-sur-mer, Saint-Jean Cap Ferrat
You'll love it :)

From Paris, flight from Orly airport to Nice = 1:30h
Or train from Gare de Lyon Paris to Nice station = 5h :)

Saint Paul de Vence is ur hometown???that's my favorite place in SOF!!!
we wanna buy not rent...and i was thinking..it will take a huge fortune to buy there🤣🤣

From Nice just next to it !
Oh yes it will cost money but you can still check it out :)
Villefranche and Juan les Pins would be cheaper but still with the beach and next to Cannes/Nice/Monaco
Great value
Juan les Pins it's like 20m from Saint Paul de Vence

Yeah..we went there. Will check as i really like Nice and the airport is accessible. Merçi beacoup!

Let me know, maybe we will be neighbours haha =D

Looking gloomily at the prices. Way cheaper in Carcassonne!!!
Maybe if btc goes up up up more?
What coin to get by the way..got .05 to spend ;)
Long-term.

Try dancing sometimes..😁😀

I was..on my own thu at the start.

sighs...
Can't say I don't miss Paris... It was amazing living there - but not for too long, at least not for me...
Mouffetard is a lovely area but not more than my neighborhood, Monmartre ;) Glad I can still go if I want to - nice to know there's a place to stay there if I decide to go back one day ;)
Not a fan of artichokes [and imagine I had to photograph one for a Still Life project in Photography school] but crazy CHEESE LOVER!
Go Imma! :*

Le Marais won over Monmarte..then we got concerned over some shady character we read about in Monmarte too🤣
I absolutely loved the artichokes' hues!
Merçi beacoup Loop😙😍

I like Le Marais too, but not to live - my area (behind the Sacre Coeur, close to the cemetary of Montmartre - not with all the tourists) is much more peaceful, so I prefer it ;)
I don't know what shady character you're talking about but around Pigalle for example, well yeah, it's not the best place...
Ahahahaha you did? Seeing them or eating them too? :P I don't like either ahahahaha :D
But maybe I should find that pic with the artichoke and dedicate a post to you :D

Behind Sacre Coeur!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Wanted to stay there but Le Marais means walking to the River when we want to...but for a short stay, it's fine. Yeah it's peaceful at the back.
There was a recent news before we booked...but we went straight to Monmarte post Rue Mouffe.
I like eating them too, a bit pricey but i love love it. Let me see ur pic!

Trying to find it but can't - I think it might be on my hard disk with all of them from school. I will don't worry!!! ;) Pricey huh? How can they be pricey when they look so ugly, I don't get it :P :P :P ahahahaha

Ugh they are beautiful and tasty! @osm0sis, don't you just love artichokes???
This Greek woman hates it!

I do Imma! And this post as well... when will you be in Paris next? I should be there in a week or so. We could have an artichoke party

Artichoke party in Paris😍😍
That would be a blast Sylvia!
There's not much free time this January as I will be helping out somewhere.
U got a date out to Reunion yet?

Nice place @immarojas! Travel galore. YOLO lang! 😉

YOLO lola!!

It's beautiful and it looks cool around, and you can be my tour guide, if I can get there? hehehe ... We will dance on the road! (^_^)

Anyone can dance anywhere!!!
Travel and steemit...why not?

old is gold Paris is really a wonderful place

Indeed☺ Glad u like it.

Congratulations @immarojas! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Cool! Great photo btw. I’ve always wanted to travel to Paris. It’s just that I just started working and have to earn and save more money. Haha! Maybe someday I can go there too. Fingers crossed! :)

nice shots happy new year

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11