Harvest time up north in the PhilippinessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago


Rice fields beside my mom's hospital building.

For almost a week, I was living in the hospital pre- and post-surgery of my mom's kidney stone. One thing to do, is to check the main windows for the nice views outside the parameter. 

The day before, there's this one man doing the harvesting in one side of the field. Looking around, there seemed to be nobody else but him. Unfortunately at that time, my phone was being charged to be deemed useful for any photo shoots.

It was only the following day that I was able to take some shots, though no one was around to do any work.


Ready for harvest.

Rice production in the Philippines

Although the country is the 8th largest rice producer in the world, 10% of our consumption needs are imported abroad.  So far, rice self-sufficiency is still one of the goals until now from the present government. 


Note the harvested rice being dried in the sun.  


http://ricepedia.org/philippines

All images are mine and are original, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7.

Sort:  

Hopefully your mom feels better soon @immarojas. The rice fields look nice!

She's recuperating thank you..yeah they kinda nice, aren't they :)

That's good to hear. and I love rice, I eat it every day :)

You're not into rice before?

I've been eating rice everyday for a long time now, several years :)

White rice isn't healthy..must be brown or purple :) Purple is the best though am not sure if it's available elsewhere. Theyre from the mountain region.

Thank you, I didn't know that the white rice wasn't too healthy. I'll have to see if I can find those others :)

they're ok..so long that u dont eat a lot of it per meal :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.32 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 11 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63517.53
ETH 3062.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81