Come on a Date With Me to an Ancient, Balinese Temple, Hidden Away Among the Palms!๐Ÿ˜Ž๐ŸŒด๐ŸŒด(+Drone Photos)

in #travel โ€ข 7 years ago

#

I know you love coming along on adventures with me, so here's another gorgeous one here in Bali! Are you ready? Take my hand!

Last week, even though we are coming into what appears to be a very rainy time here on the island, we were visited by some gorgeous sunshine and so I took that opportunity to go explore more of this magical place I am blessed to call home right now!

If you're from Australia, you may be familiar with the island paradise that is Bali since it's such a short flight away. It's kind of like Mexico is to Canadians, a quick getaway without crossing half the world to get to! For many of my Canadian and American friends, Bali isn't a commonly heard of destination point because it's so far away- I mean, it takes half of their one week holiday just to get here sometimes! Yikes! As my dad keeps repeatedly reminding me, other warm places are much cheaper to get to, so, since I am here, let me just take you along virtually, ya? ;)

Gunung Kawi Temple

I want to start off by saying I had never heard of this temple the whole time I have been here until I had met some friends last weekend visiting from the states and was searching for beautiful places to show them. Pinterest brought me to this temple (I wish I would have saved the page!) When I read a blog saying that this temple was too gorgeous to miss, I did a quick Google image search and was on my way with my brand new drone!

Oh ya, side note, I got a drone brought to me from the USA and am so excited to learn how to use it and share the wonderful photos with you!

Let's take a look at one of Bali's beautiful temples, tucked away in a garden of palm trees and magical greenness abounding!

kawi3.jpg


Well, look! We're here! The welcome station sits in front of the gate collecting ticket money and offering this great big stone to read a little about what we're about to see! All along the sides of the road are vendors selling everything from dresses to bottle openers to cold coconuts!


kawi25.jpg


Just through the first gate, there is a team of men waiting to dress us in sarongs, the beautifully pattered 'skirt' you'll see me wearing coming up in the photos! Above them, is a beautiful look down below- do you want to see?


kawi26.jpg


Beyond me, there is a gorgeous view of the rice patties! Here's some snaps from my handy drone who was looming overhead!


kawi27.jpg


kawi28.jpg


kawi24.jpg


kawi22.jpg


Back down on the ground, there is a sign that says the best view is 'this way', let's follow it! Do you see that boat out in the field? It's actually a restaurant! Isn't it cute?


kawi23.jpg


Below, there are some stairs... I read reviews that complained of many stairs but it wasn't bad at all, there was too much beautiful going on everywhere to even notice! When I got to the bottom of the steps, instead of following the path, I took off through the rice fields, unsure of where I would end up, taunting my drone to follow me as I danced into the palmy fields! Come with me!


kawi21.jpg


After a little bit of green (and mud) there was another path! Where would it lead?


kawi18.jpg


I am really fascinated by temples, relics and ruins. I spent almost two years in Central America and spent much of that time at ancient sites, studied them, looking upon them in admiration. I love seeing the history and the energy in these structures. I think it's magical. This entry way caught my heart and I spent a long time hanging around at the entry before going in. I'll take you along inside with me whenever I finally go! ;)


kawi20.jpg


kawi19.jpg


On the other side, there were steps going down. Down where though? Should we continue to see? There's a gentle sound of falling water... where could this be leading us to?


kawi 29.jpg


kawi15.jpg


A waterfall was visible through the trees to the right of the footpath. Being adventurous, I took off into the forest to get up close and personal with the beautiful water feature!


kawi17.jpg


Isn't it beautiful? A little bit chilly though! ;)


kawi16.jpg


Feeling rejuvenated after the slashes of fresh water that managed their way onto my skin in my attempts to capture these moments, I couldn't keep my feet on the ground!


kawi13.jpg


The 'ancient shrine' wraps around this path to the other side with a locked gate at the end.


kawi12.jpg


I sat here as though trapped, breathing in the fresh air around and admiring the natural greens everywhere around!


kawi11.jpg


What if we're stuck?


kawi10.jpg


No, we're fine, this is the gate we came in! I just closed it for this silly photo! Now if we take the same path we came down, back to the rice fields and to the entrance, we can take the path the other way and see the rest of this beautiful place!


kawi30.jpg


This bridge gives such incredible views from every direction. I got lost looking into the flowing, healing waters below!


kawi9.jpg


Following along, on the other side of the bridge was this fairy-tale looking, Avatar-type, out of this world, natural beauty!


kawi8.jpg


I just love how the vines make this place look so magical.


kawi6.jpg


I climbed down the ledge to be in this shot, among the hanging vines, above the rushing water.


kawi4.jpg


To the side of the path are more of the 'ancient shrines'. Apparently, they are royal funeral monuments dedicated to the former king, his queen and his concubines. You can read more about it here:


kawi31.jpg


kawi2.jpg


The bridge told me it wanted a picture taken of us together... so naturally, I had to do it ;)


kawi32.jpg


And that was our lovely trip to Gunung Kawi! I hope you had as much fun as I did! Even though it wasn't super sunny and the rain was coming, it was so fun to see this site and especially get some aerial action with my cute little flying camera!


kawi.jpg


I love that I am able to bring you along with me! This is so much fun! I can show you the world....

Sending love to all over the world, wherever you may be! Check me out if you love travel, food, stories, love, sunshine, happiness and everything else in between the heart and a smile! It's my goal to inspire a light in your heart and a smile to your face and I am always trying to find new ways to do that!

FUN FACT ABOUT ME: If you'd like to get to know me better, see if I'm someone you want to keep going on these'dates' with, check out my fantastical travel confession series from Dominican Republic here!

Here's a kiss goodbye, you've been a wonderful date! I am off for now, let's do this again soon!
Until next time!
XO,
๐Ÿ˜˜

heart-to-heart1.png
myAvatar.png
hearttoheart signature.png

Sort: ย 

I am coming next year to visit you and you have to take me there for sure. I will be dreaming about this tonight. Oh my gosh, I love it so much I can't even put in words.........I am speechless XOXO

Awww I would love you to come visit me! I am planning on a Canada stop in next summer once the snow melts over there for you guys ;) I'll be stopping by to see you too <3

Maybe, I will go back to Bali with you, lol.............although, when I checked the prices for travel tickets, I am not sure about that anymore. I guess I better start saving now or I have to get rich on Sreemit soon. LOL!!!

Haha well, Bali from Canada is definitely a timing issue. My parents have flight alerts saved for that reason ;) It's a far journey but my dad was looking at a round trip for a really good price, it depends on seasons and a bunch of other factors. Don't worry though, I am thinking I should come home next summer so I can probably at least see you :)
Also, we can hope for richness on Steemit, nothing wrong with that. Maybe just write a post that says you want to come visit me and see if anyone wants to help make that happen :P

PS Steemit was acting up and didn't let me include this so I'll add it here ;) If you had fun on our journey, you can come along to this Avatar-esque. Jurassic Park adventure land, Mui Ne with me here!IMG_5902.JPG

great job

Wow. What a blessing it is that you can call this beautiful place your home. Bali is so beautiful, never been there, but your pictures say it all. These are amazing shots and views. Thank you for sharing, I really enjoyed it so I'll be following you to see more of your adventures.

Hi =D Oh I know it! Bali is a dream come true for me! I have been so many places in this world but Bali is the place that caught me and made me fall in love enough to get more permanent here! I am so happy to share where I am fortunate enough to go and love doing this kind of thing! I will definitely continue sharing so happy to hear you're sticking around ;)

waterfalls !! love your blog @heart-to-heart . how long did it take to get all those shots ? What drone were u using ? it was really nice pictures

Oh I have tons of waterfall adventures, I am a sucker for their beauty :) I will always be sharing more and more from all over the world! It took me about 4 hours there but equal if not more time organizing the photos into this blog ;) My drone is a Mavic Pro! Brand new and so much fun! I'll tell him (my drone) that you liked his photos ;)

Wow !!! I got myself a spark ! Flight time is a bit limited so need to really plan the shots before taking off. May seriously consider a mavic pro just for the camera upgrade .

Hmm well I don't know much about them to be honest haha but mine works pretty dang great so far! I really love it though it is a bit beyond my skills of technology so I am working on learning how to actually use the thing! So far I would recommend the mavic pro ;)

ย 7 years agoย (edited)

I love it !!

Upvote & resteem !!

Sure my next trip to Bali

Thanks !

Bali sure is beautiful, I recommend visiting :)

Amazing

What an amazing trip! Looks like you had a blast, and got some amazing pictures to remember it with. Thanks for sharing!

Hiya @zoltrix! Thank you! :) I actually am lucky enough to live here so I get views like this all the time and love being able to share here with you :)

Lucky you. I get so sick of seeing buildings and cities and cars. Thanks for sharing! I'll keep my eyes out in the future

Hi @zoltrix, Steemit wasn't allowing me to comment for a while but now I have the power back ;)

I am very fortunate to be immersed in nature so often, it was a big part of my wish list for my dreams and goals in life so I will continue to share with you so you can be here too<3

beautiful post

Wow, what a breathtaking journey! Thank you for sharing!

Hey, anytime, I love sharing my paradise with you all <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85