🏠 Salisbury - My Quaint Little Hometown!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

As promised, here is my Salisbury feature;


I have lived in Salisbury all my life, and although I have very different plans on where I want to live in the future, Salisbury will always hold a special part of my heart. Salisbury is tiny, and I love just how tiny it is; I love the ability to walk from one end of the city to the other in 20 minutes, and I love how close the 'hub' of the city is to itself.

I hope you enjoy the read!



Salisbury had a population of 40,302 in 2011 (the latest census statistics) and I'm not lying when I say that it's tiny! Situated in the picturesque countryside county of Wiltshire, it is the third largest settlement behind Swindon (a little bit of a stain on Wiltshire if I'm honest) and Chippenham.

What it lacks in size and population, it more than makes up for in attractiveness;

The first attraction - Salisbury Cathedral!



Unfortunately, you have to go back sometime before you find a picture of the Cathedral without any scaffolding on it, and I think the last time it didn't was only for a week and about 2 years ago. In the Summer, it looks spectacular (just look above)! It hosts the tallest Cathedral Spire in the UK and the largest Cathedral Close in the UK too!

The best preserved of the four surviving Magna Cartas is also housed in Salisbury Cathedral, put on public display 2 years ago. For those of you who don't know, the Magna Carta is a peace document recognised as the 'cornerstone' of liberty influencing much of civilisation.

Salisbury Cathedral brings a lot of tourism into the city, and in the Summer the Cathedral Close acts as a perfect place to chill out and relax.

The next attraction - Stonehenge!



Just a collection of rocks if you ask me, but considering that it's one of the 7 "Wonders" of the World I thought I'd give it a little mention...

If you haven't heard of Stonehenge (I'm sure you have!) it's a prehistoric monument that lies about 8 miles north of Salisbury (but it's always claimed to be part of Salisbury). Archaeologists believe it was constructed somewhen between 3000 BC to 2000 BC, and it's set within the earthworks in the middle of the densest collections of Neolithic and Bronze Age monuments in England.

A huge tourist attraction to the local area, and it annoyingly its presence creates a huge bottleneck on the roads if you want to go past it at all - that's what ALL the (local) locals think of when someone mentions Stonehenge.



Lonely Planet selected Salisbury among the top 10 cities in the world to visit in 2015, ranking amongst Washington DC, Milan, Vienna, Chennai and Toronto (and ranking above the latter two)! Salisbury is about 110km (or 70 miles) away from London so it isn't 'too' out of the way and I'd thoroughly recommend visiting if you're ever in the UK.



If you haven't already, check out my Norwich travel post!

Sort:  

This article has done a very good job of convincing me to go and visit Salisbury. I’m not sure I could do the same for my home town of Walsall!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=harryp3
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=salisbury-my-quaint-little-hometown


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

That's a beautiful photo of the Cathedral you have there, lucky you caught it without scaffolding in that single week

Wow - looks like something out of a magazine!

And it looks like a super safe place to live and raise children - but I could be wrong.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @harryp3 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98