Seoul Attractions: What to eat? (P3)

in #travel5 years ago

"Where to go?" and "What to eat?" must be hard questions that people wonder the most while travelling. To continue the previous parts of 'Seoul Attractions', I will give you my list of recommendations for Korean food you should have in Seoul. These are dishes that I had when I was in Seoul. Trust that all of it is authentic and quality ones, since I didn't follow any travel blogger, but natives.

If need to describe Korean cuisine with some words, it will be "rich" and "plentiful". There are so many courses and many more flavors.


Chicken hotpot (?!) or Chicken with tokbokki (?!)

Korea is a country that really famous with so many types of chicken. People here, especially the young, are crazy with it.


D0A786A4-C36E-4B6C-80F2-3180E2055D73.jpeg


81EA55E7-A346-4DE5-A850-E5D1722A3BC2.jpeg


This one I forget the name but it seems like hotpot. Big pot with stewed chicken, tokkboki and green onion. It was served with spicy sauce which was the most outstanding. Chicken was stewed and really soft, but I felt tasteless until I dipped it into the spicy sauce. That sauce was not spicy at all but it made chicken so tasty.

I have a compliment for the chicken soup, so savoury. Feel like they must stew chicken into that soup for hours. The chicken broth and the taste of tokbokki create a combination of so special flavors that I cant find anywhere else. My friend also said that there is only this restaurant selling this kind of chicken.

I forget its address but It is quite near the biggest book store in Seoul. I'll update later.


Bap Burger ?! (What the heck is that?! LoL).

My friend introduce something called “bap burger”. “Bap” means “rice” in korean. Firstly, I have no idea what is “bap burger” and I cant even imagine how it looks like. My friend says that it made from rice. So I think maybe it put rice inside as an ingredients instead of meat.

But when I get a restaurant selling “bap burger”, I laugh like hell as soon as I found out what is real “bap burger”. It looks like this.



You can choose a lot of ingredients inside as any kind of burger. But only thing which is so crazy but excited is rice. They make burger with rice instead of bread. Look so funny and special. I think it is sold in Korea only and cant be found out anywhere else in the world. It shows me something which is full of Korean culture that the life is deeply attached to eating rice daily.


C9487DCE-B064-486E-B0B2-63217E35E787.jpeg


I also order one which includes cheese and ham. It costs 2500 KRW. Quite reasonable. Its taste is awesome too, not less delicious than any kind of ordinary burger. But instead of grabbing it by hand, I need to use spoon. lol

There are a lot of Korean high school student in the restaurant, and of course, they all love it.


Korean Street food

Just like any rich cuisine country in the world, Korean street food is also awesome and delicious. But as a modern city, you may not find it easily like in Vietnam. Some places that you can look for it such as the walking street near Hanok Bukchon Village, Myeongdong, Hongdae, or some traditional market,...


FBFFB933-5D5E-43C7-865C-690DE7B234D8.jpeg


Firstly is kimbab in traditional market. There are so many types of kimbab with full of diverse ingredients. If you still think that every kind of kimbab is just same same, you may be wrong. Have you ever tried the kimbab made without meat but just vegetables? Do you think that kimbab has good flavor with just some basic ingredients?

Mayak Kimbab, it does.
Of course it isn’t some kind of common kimbab which we can look for in any place. The special kimbab that I wish to eat, is sold in Gwang Jang market located in Seoul, Korea. It’s called Mayak Kimbab. It literally means “Drug Kimbab” that once you taste it, you can’t stop eating.

Pick one and dip into the yellow sauce made from mustard. Feel how its flavor bursts in your mouth and keep wondering where the flavors come from?

From kimchi? No. Carrot or cucumber? of course not. From the special oil? Hmm, not at all. It comes from the mixture of all those flavors. Crunchy, sticky, fresh. Just vegetable but so savory. As its name, you can’t stop once you eat it.


A9DE2B53-BCC8-4E82-A83B-B1650D3EE752.jpeg

If you see a lot Korean Drama, you must be no stranger to this kind of street food sold in small stand in front of school of on the walking street. That is Tokbokki, Odeng, sundae,... Imagine that when the weather getting cold, gathering with friends in the small stand and try some hot odeng while drink a warm soup,... Nothing is better than that. You may feel you are deeply in a scene of some Korean Drama.


@hanggggbeeeee

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @hanggggbeeee, you have received a --VOTE_EIGHT--% upvote. I'm the Vietnamese Community bot developed by witness @quochuy and powered by community SP delegations

Hi @hanggggbeeee!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.581 which ranks you at #5839 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 5 places in the last three days (old rank 5834).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #222.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I love answering those "hard questions" when I travel. In fact, for me, the greatest joy of travelling is finding new food / new tastes.

As for that "Bap Burger," it does not look very tasty, although it might be okay with cheese and ham.

By the way, when I was in Japan, the Japanese burger chain MOS Burger had a rice burger. I tried it once, but the rice bun fell apart in my hands ... before it reached my mouth, and well before it reached my stomach. That was the first and last time I had a rice burger.

With rice burger, we better use spoon to eat. lol.
You're right. it was just so so. Nice to try but not really outstanding.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30