My first trip - Thailand #3: Lost in Khaosan

in #travel7 years ago

Our purpose in this trip was to explore Thai food and try to enjoy local life of Thailand. We made a plan to travel just only Bangkok and the first destination was Khaosan Road. 

If you like Thai food, you'll find out the heaven in Khaosan. I know I did. Sinceerly you should bring bottle of water because most of Thai food is spicy. The spicy level was strong as much as making me smelt it everywhere and making my nose super itch. But I can affirm Thai food is extremely awesome. Not only fresh fruit and juice but also special food of Thailand such as PadThai, seafood salad,  cookie with cream, Thai spring roll, Thai style chicken carry,.... Omg. Just one day, I ate too many Thai food. Thailand, especially Khaosan was a foodie wonderland.

The first dish we ate was PadThai absolutely. 

Trust me, it was really fancy and tasty. We just paid $1,5 for it. Worth it. We even ate it 3 times on the first day. 

"Teng mo ban" - Water melon juice. Super good.

This juice is "must-try" in Thai. We drank it whenever we felt thirsty. I can say this juice and Padthai are the best for sure. 

Cookie. 

We just buy it because of looking so cute. Quite good. Sweet and cripsy. It will totally fit with some one loving sweet. 20bath/box/4 pecies. 

Seafood salad. 

There were two words to describle it is sour and spicy. 60bath for small size. If you cant eat something spicy. Dont forget to tell them. Because we just chose spicy-a-little-bit level, but it still made us had to drink water constantly. I could not firmly say this food was good but you know what its taste made me couldnt stop eating even though it was super spicy with me. 

Firstly when I saw this kind of restaurant, I thought "oh it is the same with "cơm bình dân" in Việt Nam". Actually it was, only one thing different was they provided Thai food, not Vietnamese food. We considered a lot because everything looked so spicy. Then, we chose chicken curry, absolutely Thai style. Because I heard this one is the food traveller should try in Thailand. 50bath for it. Just normal. It cannot compare with PadThai. 

Thai style chicken carry. 

After that, we decided to have some beer at a good restaurant in Khaosan road. Because we were almost full with street food, we just ordered 2 bottle of beer, chips (because he obsesses with it) and Thai spring roll. 

We tried Chang beer, a beer brand of Thailand. It cost 80bath. It was not smooth like Hanoi beer or Saigon beer of Vietnam. 

With spring roll, It looked like "nem" - Vietnamese spring roll, but not good like that. Its cover was quite thick and oily. I thought they put PadThai inside it. LoL. I really obsessed with padthai. Total was 340bath for this meal. Worth it. I didnt really satisfied because of food but view and service quite good. I really had a good time here. 

Love, HB
Sort:  

I have been to Phuket in Thailand once and absolutely loved the place. I love spicy Thai food too- pad thai and thai green curry are my favorites.Thank you for sharing your insights, would love to visit Bangkok some time and try authentic thai food.

thank you for seeing my post. Hope you share about your trips in Phuket. I am planning to go Thailand one more time ^^

I just came back from Thailand. I was teaching english to kindy aged children.

How do you feel about Thailand? ^^

I have mixed feelings. Great place to visit but wouldnt work there again :)

I find it to be very corrupt with some areas and some other personal reasons.

Really great post once again. But what's the food you like most in Thailand?

Have you ever been Thai before? PadThai, tomyum, ... I cannot pick out just one. ^^

I've never been in Thailand before because even when I hear it, it sounds dangerous to me.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 5.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @hanggggbeeee
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @hanggggbeeee to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!
For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Yeah, better stick to the thai food on the khaosan road. tastes way better than the "vietnamese" stuff there. Enjoy ;)
Miss the Khaosan Road...

Yeah. Thai food really fit with me. I spent most of money for it. Eat everytime, everywhere. :)))

Yeah, so do I when I travel :D

Welcome to Thailand

Friendly and fun loving, exotic and tropical, cultured and historic, Thailand radiates a golden hue from its glittering temples and tropical beaches through to the ever-comforting Thai smile.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13