Willamette Falls in Oregon City, OR

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I bet you don't know what is the second most powerful waterfall in the United States, of course behind Niagara Falls? It is The Willamette Falls in Oregon. On my way home I decided to pull over and snap a few photos with my iphone.

IMG_6595.JPG

The second largest by water volume, Willamette Falls was the final destination for many westward-heading pioneers. It was also the heart of thriving industries throughout the late 1800's, providing power to lumber, woolen, flour, and paper mills. In 1889, it was the site of the world’s first long-distance electrical power transmission line, from Oregon City to Portland.

IMG_6591.JPG

Due to a four story drop of the Falls which spans over 1,500 feet, a system of locks and canals was developed to allow passage of shipping and log vessles. As the local paper, timber, and various industries completely shut down by the late 1900s, the locks system was then converted to accommodate recreational boats. In 2011 the system was completely shut down.

IMG_6593.JPG

There are plans to make the falls a public park. The website http://www.willamettefallslegacy.org has much of the information.

IMG_6596.JPG

I guess I take for granted the history and beauty of The Willamette Falls, which is only 10 minutes away from me, as I pass by quite often headed to the mall or wherever north.

-Greg

Sort:  

looks like a cool place to explore

There is another lookout area on the other side of the river, in West Linn, Oregon, I should head over there and see the perspective from the other side.

I will be happy when they get it all done for exploring, exploring without danger anyway.

Thanks for the comment, I love your articles! 👍

Willamette area is a great place to go.
If you head into the Willamette Valley you will run into some of the best wines the country has to offer, their Pinot noir is exceptional.

I guess I should say the same. I have never pulled over at the view point. So much breauty here in Oregon. This summer, I am planning a trip to Crater Lake.

I know I have pulled over on the other side, the i205 lookout, but I don't remember the view. I need to take some pics from there viewing Oregon City. I bet it is better!

You work in Oregon City and have never stopped there!?

I know. How embarrassing. Just passed the falls on the way home tonight.

Get some tacos and take a lunch break there!

Whoa I see you just powered up! Nice.

This is beautiful. When I lived in Boise we went to Willamette and as I recall it was pronounced differently than I expected... I think I expected a stress on the first and third like WILLamETTE, but the lady there stressed the AM like willAMette. Is that right or was the lady messing with me, lol?

Either way, a very nice post!

Either the lady was messing with you, or she was a really old timer, I do not hear anyone pronounce it that way, maybe once or twice over the past 20 years. So carry on with your correct pronunciation 😄

Thanks for the comment!

I visited the Willamette River area last September for vacation. I would love to retire there! Awesome Pics @gregm !

Thank you,

I am blessed to live here, I love it!

It's so beautiful! Mysterious actually! Thanks for sharing! :) Upvoted and followed! :)

Thank you for the follow and upvotes!
😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87