Montville, Australia: Nice, but can't imagine enjoying staying there

in #travel6 years ago

We encountered this sleepy little town on our way to the eastern-shore beaches. We took the scenic route through the mountain pass instead of the highway. This area is quaint, quiet, filled with galleries and scenic views, and well, that's it.

sunshine-coast-queensland-44.jpg

The first thing i noticed when we pulled in is that the place is incredibly clean and had plenty of parking. Perhaps this doesn't impress just anyone, but for someone like me that lives in Thailand I have come to expect garbage all over the place and no parking spots. Seriously Thailand, you gotta get that s**t under control.

image2_homepage.jpg

The architecture is pretty interesting and has an old-timey look to them that i thoroughly enjoyed. The footpaths, gardens, and elevated walkways were nicely maintained and it was very easy to get around on foot. Most of the cafes and restaurants are obviously positioned to take advantage of the views that extend all the way to the coastline in the distance. It is actually really lovely although for me me it was a bit cold, but that certainly isn't anyone's fault.

41465049_2117015511697191_6572091817410428928_n.jpg

I'm not going to say much more because I don't really think there is much more to say. For some people, visiting the galleries, wineries, and cafes would be entertaining enough to stay in one of the many (quite expensive) bed and breakfasts up there. For me, i need a bit more in the way of entertainment. I am not trying to insult anyone that lives up there (which is a long shot as it seems to be almost entirely built for tourism) because it is lovely. I think that for me anyway, after having a walk around and lunch and a coffee, I was well and truly ready to move on.

Basically, it is great for lunch with a view but I can't really imagine anyone wanting to stay here for days at a time.

Sort:  

Don't tell me you missed out on Kondalilla Falls!? it's right next door and a lovely small hike.

i'm gonna mention that to my pal. Thanks!

A part of us always longs to live simple life in a small town, but when we get a taste of that life there always seems to be a force that pulls us away; urging us to leave.

Wonderful view, it looks like its the kind of place where you go when you need to disconnect from everything

Sir ji.
East is East and West is west twain s'll never meet.
same as Queensland and Thailand has no comparison .both has difference facilities

A lovely romantic set up for tea and coffee with mesmerising nature on the hiltop....thanks @gooddream for sharing

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome informative article, I'm with you on that one scenery is beautiful and amazing however a little entertainment while travelling wont go astray.

Welcome to Australia! Magnificent views!

Vvvrry good day please help me please upvote me

Posted using Partiko Android

Montville Queensland
Went there when I travelled around "the block" for 3 years. Thanks for sharing.

Wow, gorgeous pictures. Every time I see the green like that it makes me realize what a miserable urban jungle is it that I live in. That is a fantastic view in the first image.

That's too bad about the trash in Thailand. I have noticed that this is an issue in a lot of countries where there is a lot of poverty. It's such a sad thing. It is a combination of culture and really poorly managed government that spends lavishly on itself and leaves the rest of the country to fend for itself. I get that feeling when I spend a lot of time in Mexico as well where I lived for several years.

yeah, but there seems to be a tradeoff. I am in Australia right now and there are friggin rules for everything. Tons of them, all the time whereas Mexico and Thailand have very few.

Yeah, where I lived in Mexico, the closest police station was a 2 hour drive. A lot of areas are kind of self governed. People do ok for the most part as long as the drug cartels don't show up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86