Travel Diaries #1: Climbing Mt Kilimanjaro (Day 0) - Exploring Moshi

in #travel6 years ago

A few years ago, I had the unique chance to climb Mount Kilimanjaro - the highest mountain in Africa, and the highest freestanding mountain in the world, with the summit standing at 5,895m above sea level. Very few people are aware that I’ve actually done this, or know about the actual experience, so I figured I’d start writing a new series of my travel diaries to share with all you Steemians here - and hopefully educate everyone reading this in the process!

DSC08697.jpg

To answer the first question - why on earth did I want to climb Mount Kilimanjaro? Well, my parents have always been very active people, with every family “holiday” consisting of at least one fitness related activity. We could never just have a simple holiday consisting of sitting around doing nothing, as this was considered boring. My mom is approaching 60, and she is still competing in Ironman triathlons around the world at every available opportunity, with my dad usually in tow (because he doesn’t really have a choice). For one of my mom’s recent birthdays, she decided that it was time to climb Mount Kilimanjaro. I was given the very blunt option of either going with, or staying at home. Figuring I had nothing to lose, the decision was made to go with.

DSC08620.jpg
En-route, Kilimanjaro is considered such an attraction that it even shows up on the plane screen.

DSC08625.jpg
About half an hour later, you’re gifted with your first sight of the mountain, rising above the clouds.

Secondly, why have I called this day zero? Well, this post covers the day before the first actual day on the mountain. We had arrived at our hotel late at night in the town of Moshi, Tanzania (after 4 different flights and a two hour drive), and now had a full day to pass before the actual expedition up the mountain began the following morning. Moshi is considered as the “gateway” to Mt Kilimanjaro, and the town clearly thrives off the tourist industry that the mountain brings in. References to the mountain are everywhere, with most hotels existing for the sole purpose of arranging tours up Kilimanjaro.

DSC08641.jpg
Apparently this tastes pretty good. I’m not a beer fan, but my dad approved of it, so you’ll just have to take his word here.

After our aforementioned late arrival the night before, it was time to figure out a way to pass time on our rest day. We ended up talking to a local resident outside our hotel who offered to take us on a walking tour around Moshi - this is apparently pretty common practice, and is actually quite beneficial if you try and purchase anything in the town. Reason being, foreigners stand out like a sore thumb, and you’re probably going to get charged double the normal rate for something simple like a Coke. Your impromptu tour guide usually negotiates a better rate, but I have no doubt there’s still some mark up involved.

DSC08649.jpg
Our guide shares a few words with a friend on the walk into town.

DSC08653.jpg
Coming from South Africa, I was used to seeing minibus taxi’s screaming around on the roads, often loaded to the brim with passengers. It’s not uncommon to find close to 30 people in a taxi designed for a maximum of 18 occupants, as operators try to squeeze every last person in for maximum profit potential. Needless to say, accidents happen regularly, with massive fatal consequences. However, most people have no other forms of transport, so the minibus taxi is the only way to go. Our guide asked us if we’d like a ride in one instead of walking - we assured him we were already well acquainted with minibus taxi’s, and elected to walk instead.

DSC08660.jpg
Clearly health and safety is of no real importance in Tanzania. However, I do have to admire their ingenuity - getting the job done, no matter the circumstances.

DSC08657.jpg
Not a scale model, but still, a nice sight to see walking around town. Locals are very thankful for the industry that Kilimanjaro provides them.

DSC08661.jpg
Do you need to make something nice? Then best you visit the “Meck Nice” shop.

DSC08656.jpg
Are you feeling a bit hot? The “Kool Bar” can help change that. Also, is that the Michelin Man in the bottom left corner?

DSC08669.jpg
We stopped here for some refreshments, and to escape the blistering midday heat. This was a prime example of getting charged tourist prices, as the cost of our drinks would halve if the guide went to buy them.

Our tour lasted the better part of the day, with our guide showing us everything possible that Moshi offered, ranging from a camera shop run out of a small hut, to the local police station. He assured us the tour was for “free”, but payment is obviously expected - everyone has to make a living right? Besides, he seemed very happy with the final amount, proclaiming that he can now go buy some new shoes and therefore give more tours around town.

DSC08695.jpg
That evening, I saw my first glimpse of the summit from the ground (the mountain had been surrounded by clouds the entire day, obscuring the peak from view). It was then that the reality set in - I’m going to be climbing…all the way up there?!?!? Quite a situation I’ve landed in here, but best to just suck it up and go with the adventure…

Stay tuned for the first official day on the mountain, and the resulting challenge to actually reach the summit. The climb lasted 5 days, and I'll be taking you through each one!

Sort:  

Always providing excellent photography

I try my best :)

5 days! Wow that's a long journey. How hot was it?

It was pretty hot for the first two days (being in the forest for most of it made it very humid). However, once we were out of the treeline and onto the higher parts, the temperature dropped quickly - far below freezing on the summit day.

You got a 1.60% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @garethb!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

5 Days is a quick ascent!! We did the lemosho route which took us 8 days. Cant wait to see the rest of your journey. Possibly one of the best things that i've ever done.

Awesome, was wondering if I'd find someone else here who's done it! :) I did the Machame route, which was technically 4 days up (summit early morning of the 5th day), and then heading back down directly on the Mweka route to finish on day 6.

Lemosho and Machame share some of the same route, I think yours just had a few days added on the beginning :)

Cool stuff. I do have a series posted on here but it's from earlier last year.

My wife has videos on youtube from each day... a long watch but you might be one of the few people interested enough to have a look at them!

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLfcUgRuQEzzlgycgq86S47ew-mr84Lsv7

Thanks for the video link @markangeltrueman - will definitely take a look at them once I've cleared up some work this morning :)

You are not a beer fan? What does that mean, man! You lost me there :)

Haha! Different strokes for different blokes @carlgnash ;)

Hope you enjoyed your read up to the beer part (and maybe further), I'll have the next part out this weekend :)

Awesome! Yeah, excuse my rude manners lol I did quite enjoy the post per usual ;) Just couldn't let that one slip past the keeper, you know what I mean? Not a beer fan?!?

No stress, just having a bit of fun :)

Yeah, I think it's a psychological thing. I remember being very young (maybe 4) and sitting with my dad while he was drinking a beer. Of course, being an inquisitive annoying kid, I wanted to have what he had, so he let me have a small taste - but warned me I must "never get addicted to it". I think that train of thought and taste recognition carried with me over the years. Guess the mind is a powerful thing?

But hey, if you ever find yourself in my corner of the world, we have a great selection of breweries and beers here - I'll take you on a tour.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14