How to Get to Anarchapulco From St. Louis Without Flying?

in #travel8 years ago

I would like to attend Anarchapulco next year but I really hate the idea of traveling by air. Has nothing to do with a fear of flying but everything to do with the TSA and my principles.

I wished I could say cost is not a factor but it definitely is. I would consider boats, buses, trains or trucks and any other suggestions you Steemians might suggest. I spent some time in Texas so I know poquito Spanish, so little I probably shouldn't even mention it. I probably should mention I walk with a cane most of the time tho.

Am I dreaming? Possibly, but I am starting to look into what such a trip will cost and how long it will take, or if traveling that distance on a limited budget is feasible for me without flying.

Sort:  

When I was much younger I have done Yukon to Toronto and Toronto to Yukon by bus. Not a pleasant journey, but do-able and fairly inexpensive.

I have also done northern British Columbia to Arizona by bus. Again, not pleasant, but do-able when I was younger.

Now that I too walk with a cane, if I didn't want to fly, I think that I would go by train. Much more expensive than by bus - but a lot more pleasant too.

Perhaps you could make a steemit post out of the planning of a train trip to Mexico City (if that is even possible)? That might get enough interest and upvotes to help defray the cost of getting you to Anarchapulco.

Not a bad idea. I'm sure a Mexico City destination from the midwest is far more likely to be of interest to more people.

I will post more info as it I discover it. I do like the idea of traveling by train, and I haven't done so since I was a toddler. I would expect the cost would be higher than air travel though, so it might be prohibitive.

It would be great if there were a big steem contingent going to Anarchapulco tho. BTW, when is your trip to the EU to meetup with Ken? Didn't you say your brother was going with you?

And speaking of air travel, I'm sure it's much easier in other countries without the TSA. I might find a way to fly from north Mexico down to Acapulco once I cross the border.

My brother is picking me up at Milan airport on September 23rd and then we will be driving together to Munich. KenCode has kindly offered to put us up at his house while we attend the Bits 'n Pretzels Conference with him and experience spending Steem Dollars for beer via BlockPay at Oktoberfest - which will be the first major roll out of BitShares Munich's crypto payment system.

As for your problem of getting to Anarchpulco - If you can get to Mexico City by train, then there are luxury buses going from there to Acapulco which will be substantially more comfortable than the old Greyhounds I used to have to take.

I found a train-bus combo from Little Rock to Acapulco for under $300. The train portion is from Little Rock to San Antonio. Buses for the rest. Travel time: 45 hrs.

There aren't may train options in Mexico from what I'm seeing however, and there are few airports in the northern cities of Mexico. I found flights from Reynosa to Acapulco right around $300 (not sure if they were one way fares or not). I like the idea of taking a train from Little Rock down to San Anton tho, as that passes through many places I once lived in Texas.

I've only just begun my research, so I'm hoping I'll find other options. However, no matter the method of travel, by route or by rail, it will surely be a fun and interesting adventure to get there!

Looks like an adventorous plan.
Thanks again for upvote. I reciprocate with mine ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17